Skip to content

Latest Obsessions

March 13, 2012

One of my favorite things about life is the way my interests seem to come in phases. I will read a book or watch a show and then all of a sudden everything else I do seems to be somehow related to it in some why. Currently the current interest is the period of history surrounding the two world wars, from about 1912 to 1945. I know that is kind of a wide span, but it is all so connected and so, so interesting. I am so obsessed with this time period right now!

I am sure you are all familiar with the show Downton Abbey. It’s a big deal right now. I still haven’t seen the 2nd season but I’ll get to it soon. The first season starts out with the sinking of the Titanic in 1912 and ends right at the start of World War I. It’s so good! If you haven’t watched it yet, you really must. But it is so much more than just this show in my life right now!

I’m also reading the mysteries of Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear. Though they actually take place in the late twenties and early thirties, they also take place in England and they remind me so much of Downton Abbey! Also, most of the cases that she works on have something to do with the Great War, and a lot of the books are about how much the effects of the war are felt fifteen years later. I highly recommend these mystery novels. They are so much fun for historical fiction mysteries with a strong female detective and the writing is very excellent as well. I finished the third one, Pardonable Lies, recently, and it was definitely the best so far.

Oh yes, and speaking of the Titanic (did I mention how everything ties together?) did you know it is almost the 100th anniversary of the Titanic sinking!? Kind of cool. For an assignment in school a little while ago I had to plan a library program for school-age kids and decided to do a Titanic program so I was doing a lot of reading about the Titanic and I got really obsessed with that for a while too! Oh my gosh I wish I had lived in that time period. But not so much that I had been on the Titanic! I’m still kind of dying to read a good Titanic novel or at least watch a documentary. (I’m not such a huge fan of the movie though).

And then there’s flying and airplanes! I think I already wrote about the wonderful Amelia Earhart biography I read recently, Amelia Lost. I loved it! Then Michael and I watched the movie Red Tails. He talked about it on his blog. Everyone should see that movie. It is about the mostly unknown story in history of the Tuskegee Airmen, the first African American pilots in the military who fought during World War II. We really loved that movie. So much that we even rented a documentary from the library called In Their Own Words: The Tuskegee Airmen. It showed a lot of the interviews from the surviving airmen and it was really great to hear their real stories and experiences of the time. They really did a great service for this country and deserve their spot in history.

And now I am reading the book Unbroken. I had heard that this book was amazing, but seriously, it is so amazing! I really love it an I really feel like I am learning a lot about being a pilot during World War II and the history of flying and how dangerous it really was and it is all so fascinating. Oh, and of course there was another pilot link to the Maisie Dobbs books because in Pardonable Lies one of her cases had to do with a WWI pilot which was very interesting. I am having so much fun learning more about the two world wars in our history and what it was like for people living at that time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 9:18 am

    I love getting recommendations from you! I’ll have to read Unbroken. The only recommendation I had received so far was from a Twilight reader. And I just can’t take their recommendations seriously.

  2. May 8, 2012 10:15 am

    I just found my way to your blog and I’m enjoying your posts. Just wanted to mention a good movie about the Titanic. I know you said you didn’t like the movie and I assume you mean the big-budget one that was just re-released. If you haven’t seen “A Night to Remember” I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

