Skip to content

The New Hobby

January 15, 2012

While I was visiting my family in Idaho, I picked up a new hobby. Knitting! It’s been almost a month now since I first started learning, and I’m pretty sure I’m hooked. The one way I know this is a good hobby for me — because it is one hobby I actually want to spend money on. Right away when I learned how, I was really excited to go out and buy some needles and yard. I even already have a second pair of needles! You should know that means something because I don’t usually like to spend money on myself.

My little sister Maddy is the one who taught me how to knit. She is so crazy talented at all things arts and crafty. Just really super creative and crafty. I love it and wish I was more like her! She made me some beautiful hand warmers/finger-less gloves for my Christmas present! I will have to put a picture up soon, they are gorgeous. So Maddy taught me how while I was down there, and as soon as I got back home I bought my own gear, checked out a book from the library, and I was good to go. I am actually just finishing up my first project now — a very, very, very simple gift for my good friend Katie, who just had a beautiful baby girl a few days ago!

So, I have many reasons why knitting is the perfect hobby.

#1 It just makes me feel so cool! Holding those knitting needles in my hands, ball of yarn in my lap, I feel awesome, like I could be Madame Defarge from A Tale of Two Cities, hiding the names of my enemies in my seemingly innocent knitting.

#2 Knitting is not just for old ladies and French revolutionaries anymore! There are so many cool things they can do with yarn now, so many different types of yarn that are now available, that you can make really cool stuff. Because of this, knitting is becoming a trendy again, and there are some really cool-looking patterns out there now!

#3 It can be really relaxing to do the repetitive motions of knitting and I think for me it could even be a good stress release. Also, this is the best part, it’s really easy to do while also doing something else like talking to friends or watching TV or listening to an audiobook. So I can totally feel like I’m doing something productive while I spend hours a day watching Big Bang Theory or Doctor Who.

#4 It’s really easy! I think the biggest thing is to start really simple, which I am being sure to do, because I don’t want to attempt a pattern that is too complicated and end up getting frustrated and giving up. So if you’re thinking about starting to knit also, remember to keep it simple and gradually work up to more complicated things. There are still really cool things you can make even at a Beginner’s level!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Krissie permalink
    January 16, 2012 7:17 am

    That’s so cool! Have so much fun! My friend in the ward knits and she sells stuff on etsy and actually has a very successful business. She makes baby hats with lots of different colors. In time, you will be able to make whatever you want!

  2. January 16, 2012 8:28 am

    So cool. I’ve never been able to wrap my head around knitting. I always love to watch people knit. I really want to learn to crochet but I just don’t have much free time. Keep it up & I want to see photos.

  3. Joann McLean permalink
    January 16, 2012 11:02 am

    How exciting. It sounds so fun. I want to see pictures of those gloves and your projects also.

Leave a Reply

