Skip to content

home for the holidays…..

January 2, 2012

Oh, there’s no place like home for the holidays
‘Cause no matter how far away you roam
If you want to be happy in a million ways
For the holidays you can’t beat home, sweet home

I was actually lucky enough to be home for the holidays in more way than one this year!

For the first time in over a year I was able to go back to Idaho to see my family! I saw my mom and sisters when they came to Indiana to visit us over the summer, but I hadn’t seen my dad since August 2010. That’s a long time! I am so grateful that I was able to make this trip back home. I was in Idaho for about five days. I left on Sunday the 19th and I flew back on Friday the 23rd, but I didn’t actually get back to Bloomington until early, early on Christmas Eve morning.

It was a perfect trip. It felt so good to be back home. Emmett and Boise haven’t really changed a bit. But I could tell that I have changed a lot. After being in Indiana, everything in Idaho felt so far apart and there was so much open space! I had so much fun with my sisters having sleepovers and other girl stuff and spending time with my dad and seeing all the people I miss. I was able to see Andrea, my best childhood/high school friend, and almost all of the Hunters who are like my second family, and then I also got to see both Sally and Suzanne’s families (my in-laws, my real second family) and Michael’s parents were even in town too because Sally had just had a new baby! So I got to meet baby Sammy and it was a very fun time.

It was good to be able to see for myself how my dad is doing so for a few days at least I wasn’t imagining the worst from far away where I couldn’t do anything to help. We were able to play a super fun game of Risk! And one day I also got to take my dad to a couple doctor’s appointments in Boise so it was nice to spend that time together too. For now because of all these health complications, my dad isn’t moving to Alaska. But he is going to re-apply for the job and keep trying to get better so he can make the move.

We celebrated Christmas as a family on Thursday. It was a fun time with so many presents! My bag was a very tight fit for the way home. My mom made an amazing peppermint red velvet cake! We also had some family pictures taken while I was there because it was the first time we had all been together in so long. It was a really, really great trip and I am so happy I was able to go. Michael had to stay in Bloomington for work and we really missed each other, but we Skyped every morning and I was able to make it back to Indiana in time for us to celebrate Christmas just the two of us. I’ll share more about that in another post.

I hope everyone was also able to spend time with loved ones this year and had a wonderful holiday season. And welcome to 2012!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Krissie permalink
    January 2, 2012 9:49 am

    Sounds like you had a great trip! I love going home and visiting family whenever possible!

  2. Lonita permalink
    January 3, 2012 4:47 am

    How great that you got to see the whole family, and great timing on meeting baby Sammy as well! Glad to hear your dad is doing better – hope things continue to go well!

  3. January 4, 2012 8:29 am

    It was so wonderful to see you and catch up. I realized how much I miss seeing you and Mike regularly. The kids were so excited to see you also. This peppermint red velvet cake sounds amazing! I’m so glad you had a wonderful Christmas.

Leave a Reply

