Skip to content

Fantastic News!

October 31, 2011

I know I promised some good news about my dad a few weeks ago. I waited because I had to make sure it was final before I made any announcements, but now I can finally tell everyone – my dad got a job in Fairbanks, Alaska!

He was offered the position of Transportation Planner for the city of Fairbanks. He has been looking for a job for a long, long time so this is wonderful news. And don’t worry, he might be crazy but he does actually want to live in Alaska! So the job is perfect for him. His brother also lives in Alaska, though not in the same city. But he won’t be completely alone up there. I am just so, so happy for him.

He is still having some health complications after his surgery a while ago but his new employer has been great about it. They said they would wait until he is able to make the move, and they just want him to get the rest he needs to get better! So we aren’t quite sure when he’ll actually be moving, but at least we know he has the job!

Of course, Alaska is super far away from Indiana. Like twice as far away as he is in Idaho. But I know despite the distance we will always stay close. And now I have a great reason to visit Alaska someday! But don’t count on me visiting in the Winter any time soon. Alaska is the Northernmost city in Alaska, smack dab in the middle of the state. So yeah, it gets really, really cold there. It’s also the second largest city in Alaska. But then of course, you also get to see stuff like this:

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Krissie permalink
    October 31, 2011 9:22 pm

    That’s so awesome! I’m happy for your dad & can I come with you when you go to Alaska? I have always wanted to go! But I agree, summertime is the better time to go! I’m glad his new job is understanding about your dad getting better! What a blessing!

  2. November 1, 2011 8:57 am

    Congratulations to your dad! That’s awesome! Now you have an excuse to visit even more amazing places.

  3. Joann McLean permalink
    November 1, 2011 1:23 pm

    Yea, we are all so excited for your Dad. It is really hard to get a job right now. It is wonderful.

  4. November 2, 2011 11:23 am

    YEA!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

