Skip to content

Lessons I learned in battle with the giant evil cricket

October 18, 2011

Meet my new nemesis: the giant evil cricket. We fought many battles over the course of the night, since I first discovered him on my bathroom wall as I was brushing my teeth getting ready for bed. He really wouldn’t have been so bad if he weren’t so HUGE! Seriously, he was at least 3 inches long and one of the biggest bugs I have ever seen. I learned a lot of things while trying to kill the giant evil cricket, and I will share them below.

1. Crickets can jump really, really far, like 3 feet. And when they do it it creeps me out because I don’t know where it’s going to land. Is it going to land on me!? Ahh!

2. Crickets are really, really fast. I tried several times to smash it with Michael’s work boots, but it was always faster than me and hopped away before I got even close. Also, they are harmless to humans of course, but we really just wanted to kill it because no one wants to take a shower with a creepy giant evil cricket staring at them. Selfish? Yes, maybe. But it is our apartment so stay out if you don’t want to die!

3. This is one situation where being an adult is the worst. It is so depressing to realize that you can’t just scream for Mom and Dad to come rescue you and kill the bugs and spiders anymore. You’re the adult and if you don’t take care of it, no one will. Also, as some of you might know, Michael really, really doesn’t like bugs, so most of the time it really is up to me alone!

4. Target has a terrible selection of bug traps!! I ran over there half an hour before they closed when I realized that throwing the work boot into the bathtub where the cricket was isn’t a good way to kill a cricket. All I wanted was one of those sticky paper traps because I read online you can put cornmeal on them and it’s a really easy way to catch crickets. No such luck. Target did not have them.

5. And this is my favorite thing that I learned: You can do anything when your loving spouse is there to support you,

when you know he has your back. The first round I fought with the evil giant cricket occurred when Michael was asleep and I didn’t want to wake him up. But facing the cricket alone was just too scary! Finally I gave up in frustration and went to bed, so angry that the cricket had won. When Michael woke up to get ready for work, there was the cricket, still in the shower, in the exact place I had left him the night before. I was ready to face him again, this time with Michael right by my side I wasn’t afraid. I was able to slowly move closer and closer without any fast movements so he wouldn’t hop away, and then when I was close enough, SMASH! And it worked! Yay!

So now you know how to defeat a giant evil cricket. And I learned the best lesson of all, that I can do anything, even the hard and scary things, when Michael is by my side.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad McLean permalink
    October 18, 2011 7:24 am

    Nothing like those “southern” crickets to keep you awake all night. You were lucky. Usually we can’t find them and they go on and on.

  2. Joann McLean permalink
    October 18, 2011 2:34 pm

    Killing bugs is not one of my favorite things, and I’m an adult. I usually call for my husband. It works, sometimes. Crickets do eat holes in your clothes. So, you do have to get rid of them. Good you got it.

  3. Katie permalink
    October 18, 2011 6:49 pm

    I love it!
    We had some CRAZY crickets in our last place.. I can DEFINITELY relate to this post 🙂

  4. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    October 18, 2011 7:12 pm

    The crazy thing was we never even heard this cricket make a peep. He was so quite, but just so darn huge! I am so paranoid that he wasn’t the only one.

  5. October 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    He’s probably big enough that he ate all the smaller crickets! hahaha At least that’s what Tim told me about the Big Black Widow spider he killed in my apt when he lived with Chris and I. (somehow I missed this post when you first put it up!)

Leave a Reply

