Skip to content

Hospitals

October 12, 2011

Sometimes life turns out really weird. Like last week for example. I was on my way to class last Monday when Michael texted me that his mom was in the hospital. We were worried about her but thankfully after a few days she was feeling better and going home. Then, on Wednesday night I got a call from my sister. “Did you hear about Dad?” The first thought that came to my mind was that he got a job! (He’s been looking for a job for almost 3 years now). My heart leaped for a moment.Then she said, “He’s in the hospital” and it sank really fast.

Thankfully, after surgery a few days ago he is also home and doing well. However, I still can’t get over how weird it was that Michael and I both had parents in the hospital in the same week. It was a little stressful, and also kind of makes you think. We all realize our own mortality at some points, and even scarier sometimes is realizing the mortality of the people we love and how we really can’t imagine life without them. We also realized how hard it can be at times like this to live so far away and not be able to be there always for the people we love. We’re so thankful our family is okay, even as we also remember the ones we have lost.

Dad at my sister's graduation!

P.S. Some good news about my dad to come soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 12:57 pm

    Allison-
    I am so glad to hear that your dad is doing okay!!! I can’t believe you had both of them in the hospital on the same week!! And yes it was very stressfull!!

    Can’t wait to hear the good news about your dad!!

Leave a Reply

