Skip to content

Menu Planning

October 5, 2011

Since we bought a car we’ve had to cut back on extra spending. One major area we are trying to cut back on is eating out. Michael and I have a pretty strong weakness for eating out. My husband loves a good hamburger and I love the convenience of not having to worry about what’s for dinner.

We’ve found that the thing that helps us stop eating out the most is having a menu planned for the whole week. It’s our third week and so far it’s worked really well. (knock on wood). The past year while I’ve been in school I’ve been terrible at planning meals ahead of time. It makes cooking so much harder when it’s 5:00 and you’re both starving and you have no idea what you are going to make. Hence, McDonald’s!

Another thing that is helping this week is my new subscription to the magazine Everyday Food. (Michael got it for me with his Coke points!) I love it because it’s all recipes and that’s all it is! Today I actually made two recipes from that magazine and I loved them both. This morning for breakfast I made Potato Hash with Spinach and Eggs.

For dinner I made Chicken Barley Soup. It was so filling and so scrumptious and so easy to make. I thought it would be a perfect meal for fall too, but of course on the day I made it, it turned out to  be 80 degrees! Oh well, we’ll have the leftovers when it’s nice and chilly out.

I can share the recipe too if anyone wants it. It’s just a lot for me to type out right now. Also come back in a few days and I’ll share a recipe for the best apple pie I’ve ever tasted!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sally permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:21 pm

    I’d love to hear about the soup recipe. It got cold finally today in Boise. Apple Pie, it feels like just yesterday you came over for your B-day to get some homemade apple pie. I’m just waiting for the apples to get ripe to start making more pie. I’m so craving it this year.

  2. KayleeAnn permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:21 pm

    I would really love to try your Chicken Barley Soup Recipe. Any way you can send me a link?
    It looks delicious!
    :: KayleeAnn ::

  3. October 5, 2011 9:55 pm

    Cooking can be so rewarding when you try new things you like. I’m glad you’re finding your inner cook! That chicken barley soup sounds delicious, please share sometime!

  4. October 6, 2011 8:47 am

    That is great!! It is hard to make and stick to a menu sometimes!! Good job!

Leave a Reply

