Skip to content

Good week, Bad week

September 29, 2011

Last week started off bad when our car broke down on my way to my internship Saturday morning. By Friday I was feeling so overwhelmed by everything I was considering quitting one of my 3 jobs because it was just becoming too much. I remember saying that day, “Is every week this semester going to be like this?”

Well, thank goodness the answer was a big fat “No!” Because this week has been amazing. After getting completely discouraged by our car search last week and our car being in the shop for over a week, suddenly very quickly everything fell into place and we went home Tuesday night with the perfect car for us. Right in our price range and can you believe it a car that both of us actually really liked! So that was the major uplift but even besides the car situation things have been going pretty great this week.

Last week I was totally stressed because no one was coming to the library I am a supervise. Our patron counts were lower than they’ve ever been. This week I met with my boss and we brainstormed some ideas and now I’m totally energized and full of ideas and ready to tackle the problem and it’s already going so much better!

thursday-1

And plus, right now I am reading/listening to a super great book and that never fails to make me happy. It is amazing how life changing discovering audiobooks has been for me since I first started listening to them this summer. Seriously, I can read a book while I am doing other things at the same time! This means that now it is almost possible to be reading a book 24/7 which is basically my dream world. The book that currently has me very excited is The Magicians by Lev Grossman. Everyone keeps calling it “the Harry Potter for adults” and I guess that is accurate, but it is also so much more! Read it! And even if you don’t read it, try an audiobook because I promise you will like it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lonita permalink
    September 30, 2011 5:35 am

    Yea for a much better week that last! And congrats on the new car – I like it!

  2. Dan McLean permalink
    September 30, 2011 7:28 am

    Life goes from the pits to roses in a hurry some weeks, but in balance it and the long view, life is pretty good because good always outweighs bad. If you don’t believe me read Laura Hillenbrand’s new book, “Unbroken” and trust me about the good.

  3. September 30, 2011 9:11 am

    Love the car! Glad this week is better, we all need good weeks!

  4. September 30, 2011 12:01 pm

    I am so glad that things are going better this week!! I am LOVING the car!!!! Hang in there!!

  5. October 1, 2011 6:19 pm

    Man I miss having you live by us, it is so nice to have an upbeat person nearby. The kids asked when you were coming home the other day, I just about cried. I am so very happy you guys found a car, what a nightmare that can be. I am also so glad things are on the uptick, college is so fun but not when things are too stressful. We miss you.

Trackbacks

  1. Allison’s Favorite Reads of 2011 (Part One) « Fresh Strawberries

Leave a Reply

