Skip to content

Stamps, Envelopes, Mailboxes

September 20, 2011

The other day Michael mentioned to me, so nonchalantly, that the US Postal Service might stop delivering mail as soon as next month! I was in complete shock. I couldn’t believe he would deliver such news to me so casually! It was a tragedy of the highest order!

Well I got home and I did a little reading. Apparently it is not that drastic. I don’t think it’s going to 100% stop delivering your mail next month. But the postal service is actually in danger and this does make me very sad. Think of all the things we couldn’t do without the mail! Birthday cards, thank you notes, wedding announcements, good old fashioned letters! I have always loved sending traditional pen and paper letters to my friends in the mail, and I admit, I love receiving them even more. I have grown a little lax in my letter writing lately, so I can see it is completely my fault the postal service is losing money!

If I don’t want to see a service I love disappear, I should be taking advantage of it and using it more often. I can see why they are having trouble though. Use of the mail service has declined so much recently. Most days we only get one item in the mail, and then it’s usually a credit card offer. Often we will go a couple days without getting anything at all. Yes, it is often much more convenient to do things online. But what about those moments when electronic communication just doesn’t cut it!? Does getting a quick thank you line in your inbox mean as much to you as the handwritten tangible card you receive in the mail? Wedding announcements, while I am sure there are some classy and tactful ways to do them online, I truly hope Facebook invites does not become the go-to replacement for a beautiful invitation with a picture of the happy bride and groom.

And so I beseech you! Use your postal service this week! Send something in the mail you wouldn’t normally send! Write a few thank you notes! Write a long or a short letter to a friend and imagine their surprise when they receive it! Use up those stamps people! While I know it might be inevitable, I will truly mourn the day the happy delightful anticipation of, “What came in the mail today?” no longer exists.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 9:04 pm

    So, talking about mail. . . did your cookbook cd break in the mail too? I guess I was a little to confident of my square envelopes with no cardboard or padding. So far I’ve heard mom and dad’s and Sally’s are broken.

  2. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    September 21, 2011 5:11 am

    Ours did not break!! Thank you for putting that together for us 🙂

  3. September 21, 2011 7:36 am

    I’m not surprised Mike told you it could happen as early as next month, I think our family tends to over react just a little. We use the mail for almost everything. I don’t pay any bills online because I just don’t trust it. I know sounds silly but I’m a little old fashioned. Plus I love receiving mail too, I would be sad if it stopped delivering daily. Plus what will happen to all the people that work there?

  4. September 21, 2011 8:54 am

    Sally – They’ll be out of a job. Great time for that in this economy. I can’t believe that all the junk mail I get every day, even tho I sent in some “opt out” for credit card offers, doesn’t provide enough business. They ought to make the mailpeople’s pay comparable to others. A lady I know who works for USPS said she got her 20-yo daughter on and that she’d be making $20 within a few years. Plenty of college grads don’t make that kind of money.

  5. Joann McLean permalink
    September 21, 2011 10:51 pm

    Allison, you don’t get enough junk mail. It can overtake you if you aren’ t careful. I like the mail, most of the time. I found out a grocery store is selling peaches from my home area this week. I love those peaches. They bring back memories of washing them in preparation for canning at home when I was a little girl. Plus it is so hard to find ripe and delicious peaches in Las Vegas. Think of the Christmas cards and birthday cards from all the grandmas in the nation, not getting delivered. Oh, I could go on and on. But, I’ll leave that up to Michael. I bet he said this to get you going. He does know how to push everyones buttons, with a cute “who me” look. Love you, Allison. Study hard, only a few more months.

Leave a Reply

