Skip to content

Goodbye Summer

August 30, 2011

Summer is over. It was my last summer as a student. Hopefully next summer I will be finding a job! And if I do end up working in a public library as a children’s librarian, summers will never be light and lazy again. (Summer Reading makes libraries crazy and children’s librarians super busy!) So it’s time to say goodbye to my last summer.

Goodbye to reading around 5 books a week.

Goodbye to spending afternoons watching movies and TV next to my sweet husband.

Goodbye to Bloomington’s student-free summer population.

Goodbye to 95 degrees plus humidity (okay, it might still get hot a day or two yet).

Goodbye to wearing flip flops everywhere and the darkest feet tan line I’ve had in years!

Hello to learning how to catalog and discussing more children’s and young adult literature with friends in class.

Hello to internship at the public library, plus three other jobs. Oh my goodness, that sounds crazy, doesn’t it?

Hello to weather cooling down, opening our windows at night, and leaves changing color.

Hello to sweaters and jackets and hoodies and more sweaters!

Hello to Fall, my favorite season of the year! And in a couple months, my birthday and our 2nd anniversary!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joann McLean permalink
    August 30, 2011 3:10 pm

    I’m looking forward to fall also. Cooler weather, sweaters, listening to the birds more because the windows are open, all the good foods that we make in the fall and winter. You will be finding a job, Allison. Life will be starting a new chapter in your life. I know you are looking forward to it. Life is full of new beginnings at every age.

  2. Lonita permalink
    August 30, 2011 5:39 pm

    Sounds like you’ve had a fun summer – and will have a crazy fall ahead of you! I’m looking forward to fall, too – my favorite season as well!

  3. September 5, 2011 10:17 am

    Goodbye summer and all that Las Vegas heat.

    Hello fall and all that fall Las Vegas heat!

    I loved fall more in Indiana than anywhere we lived. It was always so awesome. Sometimes going clear to Thanksgiving. But I loved spring just as much because I love the flowering trees as much as I love the fall colors! It was the best of places.

    And congratulations on a foot tan! Thats what flip flops are for!

    Even working, summers are still the best!

    Enjoy this last year of formal education – because learning never stops!

Leave a Reply

