Skip to content

America’s Favorite Pastime

July 24, 2011

And it’s not watching TV. Michael and I have slowly been falling in love with baseball. This Spring and Summer we have steadily been working our way through almost every baseball movie there is. While I will admit that watching baseball movies and reading books and graphic novels about baseball isn’t exactly what makes you a hardcore baseball fan, it’s been a really good and really fun way to get into the world and culture of what I think can really still be called America’s favorite pastime.

And alot of these movies are really good too. I think my favorites have been A League of Their Own, Eight Men Out, The Natural, and Fever Pitch. I think we’ve watched at least a dozen it the past few months. It’s been really fun. And, to finally make us slightly more legitimate baseball fans, we finally went at saw the Indianapolis Indians play a game last night at Victory Field!

We had so much fun we’re already talking about going again soon. Even in the sweaty ninety degree weather and a threat of rain, it was a perfect night. There is really just nothing like a good ball game. I told Michael, even if it did get rained out, I would still be glad we got tickets and went out, because we can be such homebodies that any event that gets us out of the house on a Saturday night is a good thing. I will admit though, that I did bring a book in my purse just in case I got bored during the three hour game, but I’m happy to report that I didn’t get it out once! Though somehow I still dripped my ice cream cone on it, and yes it was a library book, and yes, an ice cream cone probably wasn’t the best idea in the ninety degree weather, but it was totally worth it. I was kind of looking forward to the ballpark hotdogs too, but with ice cream cones and  popcorn we were pretty full, so that just gives us something to look forward to next time we go!

And no, we didn’t win the game. But we stayed till the very end of the ninth inning like true fans and had a really great time. I did also get quite a bit of entertainment out of watching the people around us and how often people kept coming and going and moving to new seats. The best entertainment there is. And I was really impressed with the stadium, it was a really nice place and the seats were decently priced too! Michael and I were both thinking Indy could probably support a major league team, and that would be really fun.

Anyway, I’m slowly growing into this new role as a baseball fan, which is really something I never thought I would be but I am loving it more and more. There is just something so wholesome, so good, so American about baseball that I think no other sport has. I think it’s a sport you can really feel good about taking your kids to and it has such a great, rich history and so many great players through the years. So, yes, I do love baseball, and I can’t wait for our next game.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 10:25 pm

    I love watching baseball games in real life, they’re just so fun. Glad you enjoy it too!

  2. Krissie permalink
    July 24, 2011 11:12 pm

    I love going to baseball games as well. We started going regularly in Albuquerque (minors) and we have all ready been to a few here in San Diego (major). I do love both minor & major baseball & we always have so much fun! It’s a great place to people watch!

  3. July 25, 2011 7:55 am

    I love baseball games. Since you’re in the mid-west you two should save up and go to Wrigley Field. I’d been to some awesome major league fields before I went there but nothing could compare. It is just so cool. I’m glad you had fun.

  4. Joann McLean permalink
    July 25, 2011 10:07 pm

    I love baseball games also. They are fun, especially watching the people who attend. In the past when I was the R S Pres., I loved to go because no one could call me on the phone there. I know that is selfish, but I needed some peace and quiet at times. I’m glad you enjoy the games. Baseball on TV just isn’t the same.

Leave a Reply

