Skip to content

Michael and the Girls

July 6, 2011

My mom and my sisters arrived in Bloomington late, late Friday night. Michael and I made a party out of staying up and waiting for them by getting sushi and watching a sci-fi movie. When they were finally there, it felt just like we had never been apart! I was so happy to see them.

The festivities involved the Farmer’s Market, a tour of Bloomington of course, a trip to Indianapolis and the art museum, Broad Ripple, and downtown. We also had a picnic to celebrate Independence Day and of course there was tons of good food! Our fridge had never seen so much food.

I have two such unique and amazing sisters. It was so wonderful to be able to spend some time with them and find out they both haven’t changed a bit and are also growing up so fast! It’s so fun how we are all so different but we still love each other and have so much fun together. One of the fun things we did during the visit was taste test 3 different local Bloomington ice cream shops, one each night. By the third night it was starting to be a little too much ice cream, but I loved it! Jiffy Treet’s cyclones took the prize.

My mom was working on a pretty cool travel journal to document the whole big trip, the long, long drive and all. It was fun to help her collect items for the travel journal and even write a little message in it myself. And as you can see, I am wearing my first IU shirt, that my mom bought for me!

One of the best parts was how patient and good Michael was with this invasion of female estrogen into our home. He was wonderful about driving us around, as we are pretty helpless about directions. He gave the best narrated tour of downtown Indy that had us all laughing. Even though Michael started to feel like he needed a little space by the third day, I can’t blame him. He even put up with me regressing back to my 12-year-old behaviors around my family and acting completely girly and silly.

I love my sisters! I’m so happy my family came to visit and braved the long drive to see us. I’m now counting down the time until I see them again. I hope it isn’t so long of a wait this time!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Krissie permalink
    July 6, 2011 6:54 pm

    Sounds like you had a ton of fun! I love it when family visits!

  2. July 6, 2011 8:26 pm

    It is so fun when family comes to visit! Glad you had fun!

  3. Joann McLean permalink
    July 6, 2011 9:01 pm

    Telephone calls don’t make up for In person visits. I’m glad you had so much fun.The memories are made for the first visit. There will be more to come.

  4. July 6, 2011 11:54 pm

    Family visits are the best thing I look forward to all year long. I’m always counting some days until I get to see someone again. Anyone. . . just family! I’m so glad you had such a great time visiting. We’ll be invading July 26th-28th and then driving onto Iowa. We’re going to leave at the butt crack of dawn so we can check in early enough. So excited to visit Bloomington and the old campus. Such great memories!

  5. July 8, 2011 9:11 am

    I love it when Mom and Dad come and visit (they should be here in about 3 hours!!!) But it is so hard to cram 6 -12 months in a week!! But I do love trying!! I love all the pictures!!

  6. July 12, 2011 8:53 am

    Having sisters get together is always the best. David was a sweeties letting us crash at his & Krissie’s house this spring. Can’t wait to see you in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

