Skip to content

Fireflies

June 28, 2011

A little while ago I finally saw fireflies for the first time. We were visiting some friends who had a beautiful huge backyard and we decided to have a bonfire. As we sat out there waiting for the sun to go down, I saw something light up just out of the corner of my eye. “Was that….?” And then somewhere else, another flicker of light. “Yes, yes it was! A firefly.” And before I knew it, the whole yard was just covered with them. Our friends said they usually stayed off to the sides, in the trees, but on that night they were filling out the lawn, as if they were putting on a show just for us. It was a perfect first experience with fireflies.

Talking and thinking about fireflies reminded me of the movie The Princess and the Frog, and the song the fireflies sing as they lead the two frogs through the bayou to Mama Odie. I love that part, and I miss watching the movie with my niece in Idaho. I decided that since Michael had not seen the movie yet, I would check it out from the library and make him watch it with me. As we were getting ready to watch the movie, we were talking about fireflies some more and how we don’t have many chances to see them at home because we don’t really have our own yard to go out in, living in an apartment building. And also, with Michael going to bed before the sun even goes down, we don’t go out in the evening often. But as we talked and got ready to watch the movie, I started to notice, right outside our window, fireflies glowing and flickering among the trees right behind our apartment! Now I am very happy to know that I can see fireflies any time I want to by just looking out our back windows. That makes me really happy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan McLean permalink
    June 28, 2011 8:00 pm

    How exciting. I have always loved fireflies. I remember, as a child, catching them on my grandparent’s front yard in Des Moines and putting them in a jar. I miss seeing fireflies on those hot and humid evenings. Enjoy them, they are one of God’s little miracles.

  2. June 28, 2011 10:00 pm

    That is great!! I miss fireflies!!!

  3. June 29, 2011 8:06 am

    I miss fireflies out here in the West! Looking forward to watching my boys catch some this summer.

  4. June 29, 2011 11:34 am

    I miss fireflies the most from the midwest. I have so many childhood memories of catching fireflies. I can’t wait to come to Iowa so the kids can see them. The kids definetly miss you too, they still talk about going to college in Indiana. I can’t believe that it was two years ago it was you and Mike dating. I just loved that you came to the hospital to see the baby, and secretly I was hoping he kept you and he did! We can’t wait to see next month!

  5. Lonita permalink
    June 29, 2011 7:39 pm

    I don’t think I’ve seen any yet, but maybe we’re just not staying out late enough. Hopefully we’ll have some when you show up next month!

Leave a Reply

