Skip to content

Summery Day

June 12, 2011

Saturday was a very summery day. I got out my bike finally for the first time this year. I love that bike! Then, I decided to make some potato salad, something I had been thinking about doing all week. I was in the mood for some good summer food. Especially since our oven has like no insulation and so every time we turn it on it heats up the whole apartment. We definitely don’t want that here in the middle of June. So potato salad it was! I had never made potato salad before and I was a little nervous because I knew it was not an easy dish. But I ended up having a lot of fun with it and I think it turned out delish!

Sunday Lunch

My one secret ingredient: horseradish sauce! I know Michael loves horseradish sauce and always loves to get it with his fries when we go to Arby’s. I saw a recipe online that included it, so I decided to give it a try. Michael picked some up for me at the store, and I only mixed in a little, but boy was it strong! At first I thought it was too strong, but now I’m thinking it was just right. After being refrigerated overnight and letting all the flavors mix together, today it was even better than before! I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and I know that is one dish I will be making again soon.

After waiting at least the required hour after eating our potato salad and sloppy joe lunch, Michael and I decided to go swimming! We ended up going to the Bryan Park Pool in town and we had a lot of fun. Though, I think it was decided that next time we go, we are definitely going to the IU Outdoor Pool because the deepest the pool gets at Bryan Park is 4.0 ft. and it’s $2 more to ride the slides. Though we still had a great time just enjoying being in the water. All I can say is, it is certainly feeling like summer around here. Now, if only I was done with school!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 8:11 am

    You might need to share the Potato Salad recipe. I think it would be a hit with my hubby too! I didn’t know MIke liked horseradish, Chris adores it and would love for me to use it in more dishes. Glad you had a fun weekend, we still haven’t had Summer here yet. The kids keep begging me to take them to the pool but it’s only hit 80 2-3 times this year and we were busy those day. But I think Wednesday this week looks promising!

  2. Joann McLean permalink
    June 13, 2011 7:25 pm

    What a delicious looking plate of food. We all love hot dogs and of course potato salad. But, I’m not sure about that horseradish. It would sure give the salad a little (or big) kick. Great looking meal.

Leave a Reply

