Skip to content

Ode to Jane Eyre

May 8, 2011

“It is in vain to say human beings ought to be satisfied with tranquillity: they must have action; and they will make it if they cannot find it. Millions are condemned to a stiller doom than mine, and millions are in silent revolt against their lot. . . .Women are supposed to be very calm generally: but women feel just as men feel; they need exercise for their faculties, and a field for their efforts, as much as their brothers do; they suffer from too rigid a restraint, too absolute a stagnation, precisely as men would suffer; and it is narrow-minded in their more privileged fellow-creatures to say that they ought to confine themselves to making puddings and knitting stockings, to playing on the piano and embroidering bags. It is thoughtless to condemn them, or laugh at them, if they seek to do more or learn more than custom has pronounced necessary for their sex.” -Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre

There is a new Jane Eyre movie out. There have been about ten Jane Eyre movies made over time, about one every decade. I think I’ve only seen one other one, but I thought this one was excellent! It was a limited release, only in art theaters, so on Wednesday some friends and I drove up to Indianapolis to see it, because that was the nearest it was playing. We had such a fun night and it was great to get out with some girls. Even though we did miss the first 20 minutes of the movie, it was so worth it.

Jane Eyre is one of my very favorite books. I don’t remember if I liked it too much the first time I read it when I was really young but since then I have read it over and over again and loved it more each time. I even read it twice in college, in two different classes! My only regret is that I was silly enough to sell my book back when I was done, and now I no longer own a copy! I thought they did a really good job with this movie telling the story. A couple key points were left out that I missed, but that happens with any movie adaptation really. Such a fun night, and I think it’s about time for me to read the book again!

Hmmm….speaking of reading it again. Michael and I were having a conversation the other day about TV reruns and how much he loves them. He was like, “You don’t listen to your favorite CD just one time? So why wouldn’t you watch all your favorite TV shows multiple times?” And I thought he had a good point so I said, “Yeah, it’s the same with books. Lots of people read their favorite books over and over again.” And he just looked at me like I was crazy and said, “No, Allison, that’s just you.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lonita permalink
    May 8, 2011 4:12 pm

    How funny. Sounds like a conversation Tim and I would have. Years ago when our church library was getting rid of old books they gave me a few because I’d checked them out so many times! These days, I don’t read a lot of books multiple times, but there are a few, like Pride & Prejudice, that I love to revisit.

  2. Marion permalink
    May 8, 2011 6:33 pm

    I’m so glad you were able to see the movie!! I really, really enjoyed it. I love that book & I read my favorite books over & over just like you! Reading is one of my favorite escapes and most enjoyable hobbies, I definitely can relate to your love for reading!! Miss you!!

  3. May 8, 2011 8:44 pm

    I love reading but don’t usually have time to read books more than once altho I should because over time I forget what actually happened in the book. Maybe when I retired. Glad you got to go to the movie! I read Jane Eyre once and wasn’t real impressed. Maybe I need to read it again. Or, better yet, Listen to it in my Car!

  4. May 8, 2011 10:42 pm

    How fun to go to the movies with your girlfriends. Especially one you were sure to love. Reading is my favorite passtime. It gives so much but asks so little in return. I’m always sad when I finish a great book. I just want it to go on forever.

  5. Karen permalink
    May 9, 2011 2:12 pm

    It is not just you. I read my favorites multiple times. So do my kids. Also my spouse, but not as much as I do.

  6. Dan McLean permalink
    May 9, 2011 10:20 pm

    I love to read books multiple times. They seem better each time you read them.

Leave a Reply

