Skip to content

Spring Decorating

March 16, 2011

It’s my Spring Break right now, and I have suddenly been hit with the desire to do something to brighten up our bare apartment and make it feel more like home. For a while I thought it wouldn’t be worth the effort because we know we aren’t staying here forever, but I know we’ll be in this apartment for at least one more year, we already signed next year’s lease (and yes, our rent did go up by the way. rats!) and one year is long enough to deserve some decorating. My other holdup was that we had no extra money to spend on any projects, and I thought there wasn’t much I could do without spending a lot of money. But when I really started to think about it and brainstorm for ideas, I thought of a few things I could do, all with stuff we already had!

This is my first completed project, which is now hanging up in our dining room.

love birds

It is so cheery and pretty! I am very happy with the results. I just took a frame that we weren’t using already and stretched this beautiful fabric that was given to me inside the frame. I love how it turned out, and it was super easy to do! I’m having so much fun with this. My mother is always my inspiration when it comes to decorating. All the rooms in our house were always painted a different color and she was able to do so much without spending a lot of money! I was worried I didn’t take after her because I have never felt very creative when it comes to decorating, but all it takes is a little brainstorming and I think anyone can think of ways to do something with things they already have. Keep watching for pictures of my next two projects, hopefully they will be done soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. JoAnn McLean permalink
    March 16, 2011 10:14 pm

    Have fun on your Spring Break creating. Do fun things.

  2. March 16, 2011 10:42 pm

    I love it!

  3. Lonita permalink
    March 17, 2011 5:39 am

    Love it – what pretty fabric! I might have to steal some of your ideas, our house could use a little more decorating as well!

  4. March 17, 2011 8:45 am

    Looks great!!

  5. March 17, 2011 9:45 am

    That is so cute! I love it! Of course with the birds, how could I not! Two little love birds!

  6. Krissie permalink
    March 18, 2011 4:23 pm

    I totally love it! When I first saw it before I read the blog, I thought you drew it and I was way jealous! LOL! But I totally love your idea and am going to use it to decorate a couple of rooms in my office. Also, another idea i have been playing with is taking fabric and covering a canvas, which is pretty much the same thing. Your way of doing it is so much more practical!

Leave a Reply

