Skip to content

The Path

February 11, 2011

One of my favorite things about where we live, and also sometimes my least favorite, is the walk to the bus stop in the mornings. We have decided to save money and not buy any parking permits for campus. I can take the bus free anywhere in town with my student ID, so most days that is how I get to school and work. Unless Michael is being really sweet and also off work in time to give me a ride.

But the nearest bus stop to our apartment is a 10-15 minute walk away. Some morning this walk feels really long, especially when it’s about zero degrees outside. But most mornings I really enjoy the walk because of the path. The path runs right behind our apartment building and along the railroad tracks to Pete Ellis Dr. where I then wait for the bus near the post office. The great thing about the path is that it is bordered with trees on both sides, so when you’re walking down the path it kind of feels like you are in the woods. I love it! There are so many birds in the trees and in the fall I would often see wild rabbits and deer and an occasional bright red cardinal! Now, in the past month or so, I have started seeing robins. The robins are so beautiful and so hopeful too. Every time I see one I can’t stop thinking that Spring is on it’s way. Even though half the path is still covered in a thick sheet of ice, sometimes I can feel Spring just around the corner, and I get so excited.

This has been the longest, coldest, snowiest, craziest winter I’ve ever lived through, so it would be an understatement to say I’m excited for Spring. Yesterday as I was walking home it did feel almost Spring-like because the sun was shining and it wasn’t really too cold. I can feel the sun getting stronger, or closer, however you want to put it. I know we still have a ways to go, but I’m going to keep looking for robins and every sign of Spring I can find.

Here is another thing that gives me hope. A quote from Elder Holland:

“Opposition turns up almost anyplace something good has happened. It can happen when you are trying to get an education. It can hit you after your first month in your new mission field. It certainly happens in matters of love and marriage. … There are cautions and considerations to make, but once there has been genuine illumination, beware the temptation to retreat from a good thing. If it was right when you prayed about it and trusted it and lived for it, it is right now. Don’t give up when the pressure mounts. … Face your doubts. Master your fears. ‘Cast not away therefore your confidence.’ Stay the course and see the beauty of life unfold for you.”

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 8:45 am

    That is what I miss about the Midwest, trees and birds everywhere. I love the big trees and miss them so much!

  2. JoAnn McLean permalink
    February 11, 2011 12:02 pm

    We all lived for that first robin. It was a turning point in our minds. Spring was on its way. I love the quote from Elder Holland. It bears worthiness of being put on the fridge so we see it constantly. It is so easy to yield to temptation.

  3. February 11, 2011 1:41 pm

    I was talking to one of Mac’s teachers yesterday (yes, he was in trouble again). She’s from Indiana. I asked her how she was liking Colorado and she said “I miss the trees”. Isn’t that the truth. We all miss the trees. It is like living in a forest. I hope Mikey takes you to Brown County for a day of fun sometime. It’s a gorgeous drive!

  4. Dan McLean permalink
    February 12, 2011 10:49 am

    I have walked that trail hundreds of times. It was one of my favorite long ways home from work.

  5. February 13, 2011 1:45 pm

    Just wait till summer, you really will be in the woods. I so miss Indiana. I also love just about anything from Holland, he has had so many great life experiences that are worth sharing. Enjoy that wonderful Indiana weather for me.

Leave a Reply

