Skip to content

Ice Storm

February 1, 2011

Freezing rain. Ice pellets. Blowing snow. Ice accumulation. Possible power outages.

These are just a few of the descriptions used in our forecast here in Indiana. And we are lucky to be in the southern part of the state, because it is worse just an hour away in Indianapolis, and in other parts of the Midwest.

Ice Storm

Ice-coated Tree

This winter has already brought so much crazy weather, who would have thought it could have gotten worse? People are really nervous about this ice storm, classes have been canceled this afternoon and evening at IU, and all the meetings I had scheduled for yesterday and today have been canceled as well. Grocery store shelves are empty in all the panic.

Me, I’m not too worried. Michael and I are both safe at home for now with nowhere to go till the morning. We have plenty of food, and yesterday went out to get flashlights and candles. And of course we have the gigantic cookies Michael made yesterday to live on! I think it’s pretty exciting. I can’t wait to see what is going to happen and if our power will go out.

The sound of the ice falling outside is so bizarre. You can definitely tell it’s not your normal rain. The frozen grass has a very loud crunch as you walk on it. I fell down a couple times walking on the ice-coated sidewalks this morning. It’s like a completely new icy world out there. Right now I’m just glad to be inside.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. JoAnn McLean permalink
    February 1, 2011 4:48 pm

    As a mother, I’m glad you and Michael are home safe and sound. But, you’re right, what more do you need than monster cookies, flashlights, and candles. I can’t forget the milk and bread disappearing from grocery stores before a storm hits. Have a nice cozy evening.

  2. February 1, 2011 5:03 pm

    Glad you are safe!! Have fun and eat lots of cookies for me!!

  3. February 1, 2011 5:29 pm

    Wow, we’re all getting hit hard aren’t we! I’m kind of loving the weather. We’ve got a high of -4 today and colder tomorrow. No school for my kiddos! We stocked up on Redbox movies, soda, chips and homemade cookies. We’re set too! I am glad we have a fireplace in case the power goes out! Have fun with your ice storm!

  4. Dad McLean permalink
    February 1, 2011 10:24 pm

    Wow, we never had a storm like that in all the time we lived in Indiana. My friends tell me it is the worst winter ever. Trust me when I say most of them are much nicer. Have fun, stay warm, and off of sidewalks.

  5. February 2, 2011 2:43 pm

    Welcome to the Midwest where the weather changes faster than the weatherman can predict. Seriously, it’s fun to watch the weatherman in the Midwest, they’re usually wrong. I remember thinking after living here for a while that they had gotten better. Then I went to visit in Indiana and they were still wrong. It’s easy to get the weather right when it’s sunny and nice (depending on the season) 80% of the time like out West. Have fun snuggling up on a cold and icy day!!!!

  6. February 2, 2011 2:44 pm

    And tell me how those cookies are!

Leave a Reply

