Skip to content

Sunbeams, School, and Italy

January 23, 2011

Raining in Rome

I’ve been thinking a lot about my trip to Rome four years ago. I especially remember and miss all the gelato I ate while I I was there. This picture is one of my favorites from the trip because it captures a moment where I was absolutely happy. My cousin Rosalie and I had gone into the city just the two of us that day. I believe it was the day before we left Italy to come home. My mission was to find the perfect souvenirs for my family. It started raining while we were shopping, and I was wearing my swimsuit under my clothes because we were planning on going to the beach later. So I took my shirt of and just enjoyed the rain. It was funny because the flip flops I was wearing had zero traction so I was constantly slipping on the wet stones in the streets. It was such a perfectly happy moment.

Well, the second week of the semester is already over. I am in a Children’s Literature class and I am going to love it. The best part will be the assignment to read 70 children’s books, because I will be able to read so many great books and count it as homework! I’m also in a public library management class, and I just love talking about all the issues surrounding public libraries. The best part is that I have friends in my classes! It is so fun to get to know so many people here and find others with similar interests. These two classes are also solidifying my career path decisions. The fact that I love these two classes so much helps me know that I really do want to be working in public libraries, and maybe as a children’s librarian.

I am loving but also completely exhausted and overwhelmed by our new calling as Sunbeam teachers in the Primary. We have 7 3-year-olds in our class! They are such a handful. The transition from nursery into primary has been really hard for them. It’s so crazy that we expect kids that young to sit and be quiet for three hours straight, when that is so hard for even many of us adults to do! So we have many wonderful challenges trying to come up with fun activities for the kids to do to keep them happy but also learning. However, it is so rewarding. I have already grown to love each of the children in our class so much!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lonita permalink
    January 23, 2011 7:39 pm

    Rome looks awesome. Wow, 7 3-year-olds for 3 hours – that’s a lot of work! (I had 8 kids for children’s church today and was thrilled it was all girls who mostly quietly colored and actually listened!)

  2. January 23, 2011 8:54 pm

    Games, singing, and coloring help those cute little kids. It’s hard for me to sit for three hours! Glad you’re loving school and your classes.

  3. January 24, 2011 10:25 am

    What a great picture! How fun! I miss Italy everyday. But our bedroom is now decorated with pictures of our missions. Sounds like school is going great, I’m so happy for you. Is it true you’re the Campus View librarian?? I loved that place.

  4. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    January 24, 2011 1:40 pm

    Yes, Jeni, I am! It’s so cool that you lived there once. I’m really having a lot of fun with the job!

Leave a Reply

