Skip to content

Writing, Fruits and Veggies, and Running

January 19, 2011

We’re well into the third week of the new year now. This year my resolutions were pretty simple. I wanted to report on how things are going. The first one especially is kind of a big deal for me because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do.

1. Write every day. I found a really cool website called 750words.com. The site provides a blank screen for you to write and the goal is to write 750 words a day. It counts your words for you and lets you know when you reach the goal. It also lets you know how many days you’ve gone in a row. It’s a pretty cool website and I’ve found it to be really motivational in getting writing done everyday. Although I have already missed one day this month, I didn’t let that stop me from picking up the next day and starting another streak. I’m on a 12 day streak right now! I’ve found that doing this simple exercise every day keeps writing on the forefront of my mind and makes me feel more like writing throughout the rest of the day.

2. Join or Start a Writing Group. I’m still kind of working on this one. I think it would help me a lot to have the support and input of other writers. I think I have found a potential group to join through the public library but I haven’t yet been to a meeting. I’m kind of nervous about this one because it’s really putting myself out there but I think it’s something my writing needs.

3. Eat More Fruits and Vegetables. My diet has seriously been lacking in fruits and veggies and I can really tell the difference. First of all, it’s hard to buy a lot of fresh produce on a poor student budget and also this can be really hard when you are married to someone so vegetable-averse as my husband is. But I know adding fruits and vegetables to my meals will make a huge difference in my health.

4. Start Running Again. (When it gets warm enough). This may be a bad attitude to have, but I think winter is meant to be a little bit lazier. But once spring comes along, I am always motivated to get outside and start running. So I’m just going to keep being a bit of a winter bum and wait for springtime to roll around. Really, I should be doing yoga during the winter though, so I’ll have to get on that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 4:29 pm

    I think most of the kids in our family are veggie-unlovers. My Mom always laughs when I make dinner, “My only daughter that cooks veggies!” On the workout note, does your school have a fieldhouse? That’s a great place to go in the winter. Good luck with your resolutions!

  2. Lonita permalink
    January 19, 2011 5:00 pm

    The writing web site sounds like a cool idea – that’s great that you’ve been writing so much! Tim will eat a lot of vegetables, but don’t think I’ll ever manage to win him over to, say, broccoli…Agree with you on being lazier in the winter – I just can’t get motivated to run in below-zero windchills!

  3. January 19, 2011 6:19 pm

    I love that you said Mike was a vegetable unlover. When you wrote that goal I thought, that’s life with Mike. I loved that you were surprised Steak & Shake wasn’t a fast food restaurant because that’s what he likes. It’s just so cute.

Leave a Reply

