Skip to content

Miracles of the Modern Age

January 2, 2011

Well, I know skype has been around for a long time now, but today was my first experience with it, and with video chatting. I thought it was a great way to bring in the new year, because it is such a modern marvel that we can communicate with people far, far away and see each other while we talk! And the best part is, it’s free!

I was getting really homesick before Christmas and I’ve heard so many people talking about how video chatting and skype really helped them feel closer to home so I asked my parents for a webcam for Christmas. I got one, and we all finally got set up on both sides and today we were able to talk! I had so much fun. It was the best thing in the world to be able to see all my family. Somehow it is so much better than just talking on the phone. I don’t know why, but seeing them makes it just one step closer to really being there.

My family is the best and I love them so much. I was able to see my sister’s new hat and her cool dreadlocks. I was able to look my parents and my sisters in the face as I talked to them and we could all talk at once. Michael could even look in and say hi, and I could show them a few things around the apartment, since they haven’t been here yet. I was so happy we were able to do this. It really sooths the pains of being 2,000 miles away. I am so lucky to live in these days. Hooray for 2011!!! I can tell it’s going to be a great year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 5:21 pm

    Sounds pretty cool. I’ll have to try it someday.

  2. January 2, 2011 5:30 pm

    It is hard being away at Christmas time. I’m so glad you were able to talk with your family, that always makes things better (at least I think so).

  3. January 3, 2011 5:02 pm

    I keep wanting to try skype, it sounds so cool. Maybe if we get a webcam we’ll have to try it out!

  4. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    January 4, 2011 4:54 am

    Totally Jeni! It’s so fun! If anyone gets a webcam and would like to skype with us, just let us know. It’s so easy to set up and really fun.

Leave a Reply

