Skip to content

Indianapolis Museum of Art

January 1, 2011

We visited the Indianapolis Art Museum yesterday. It was a wonderful experience. Michael and I love attending art museums together. We spent several hours meandering through the exhibits and absorbing the artistic expressions.

"Sunlight" by Frank Weston Benson

"Sunlight" by Frank Weston Benson

This was my number one favorite painting. I was reluctant to leave it behind. This picture definitely does not do it justice. I’d love to have a print of this someday. Looking at art is a really good exercise for me because my mind does not normally think that way. My mind has always tilted more towards reading and writing than the visual. Even when I am at museums, I struggle to make myself spend more time looking at the art than reading the labels next to them. My eyes are just immediately drawn towards the words. Michael makes fun of me for that all the time.

"Electric Chair" by Andy Warhol

I’m not sure, but this one may have been Michael’s favorite. There was a special Andy Warhol exhibit at the museum we would have loved to see, but the tickets were just a little too much for us. So we were happy when we got to see this one in the general collection! We had a lot of fun at the museum yesterday. We also visited the Lilly House mansion that is right next door. I really enjoyed that too. The house reminded me of an English manor, and it was still beautifully decorated for Christmas. I’ll add a few pictures of our other favorites from the museum.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 9:57 am

    I’m kind of like you, I spend more time reading the description than looking at the artwork. After reading The Swan Thieve (which was a real yawner) I tried looking at paintings a little more.

  2. Krissie permalink
    January 2, 2011 10:34 am

    Looks like a lot of fun! I’m glad to see you embracing Indiana! I miss it so much!

Leave a Reply

