Skip to content

A New Best Friend

December 27, 2010

Tubby the Whale

My extremely talented little sister Maddy made me this stuffed whale for Christmas!! I almost screamed when I opened the box today. In fact, I think I did. Who knew a stuffed whale could be so darn adorable? I love this gift so much. Maddy knows that whales are my favorite animal and green is my favorite color. She also made a giraffe for my mom that is just as cute! I am so lucky to have such a creative sister! She has been sewing ever since she was tiny and started making her own doll clothes. She never uses a pattern and her creations always turn out amazing. She has painted her bedroom walls (used to be mine!) so many times. She is a very talented budding artist and designer. I told her when we have kids I want her to design their rooms because she has such a good eye.

Needless to say, I love this gift and it is now joining our random collection of stuffed animals, including the super cute penguin I got from Michael, our two monkeys, and of course, Monster, who we bought together when we were first married. Sometimes I imagine these stuffed animals have lives of their own when we aren’t home and they are almost a part of the family. I am sure Monster, TV Monkey, Closet Monkey, and Benny the Penguin will welcome this new addition to the family with open arms!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2010 10:55 pm

    That’s a cool whale! She did a great job.

  2. December 28, 2010 7:49 am

    I love homemade toys. They look so much more love-able then store bought animals. That whale is so cool. I just love the button eye.

  3. December 29, 2010 10:39 am

    Way cool!!

  4. Dad McLean permalink
    December 29, 2010 5:47 pm

    Stuffed green whales from sisters build eternal memories.

Leave a Reply

