Skip to content

Prized Possessions

December 23, 2010

Sometimes when I have free time, I have a project I like to work on. Most of my life I have been a constant journaler. Growing up, I wrote in my journal nearly every day. Now it’s about once a week, but that time spent writing is always a highlight of my week. I love my journals more I think than anything else I own. I am so proud of them. I love how each one is unique and tells the stories from a different period of my life. They all have a special place in my heart.

So my project, coming along very slowly, has been to transcribe those precious journals into a Word document so the words can be preserved. So far I have transcribed one year and it is already a 55 page document. However, I don’t mean this in any way to replace the original journals. The books themselves, the covers, the handwriting, the colorful pens I used, those are all just as important to me as the words they contain. But I know it will be important someday for all the words to be in one place and in one document. For posterity’s sake I guess.

It is so much fun to go back and think about the person I once was and who I have now become. One of my favorite things to do is pick today’s date and go back in all my journals and see what I was writing on this day years and years ago. For example, on this day nine years ago I was bemoaning how bored I was during my Christmas break and eating too many treats that the visiting teachers had brought over! Doesn’t sound that different from today really!

So far I have filled almost 23 journals! I like to think my children and grandchildren are going to be so lucky to have this record of my life, but I really do it completely for myself. I need the emotional release, and it has always helped me think through whatever issues are on my mind. And of course, many, many of my older journals are full of crushes and boys as well! Most of it seems pretty silly looking back, but it was so important to me then. Journaling has been one of the greatest blessings in my life, and my collection of 20 plus journals are some of my most prized possessions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan McLean permalink
    December 24, 2010 6:32 am

    I’m delighted to have another journaler in the family. Like you, I sometimes find relief in my journal, but more often find my self filling it with thoughts on our family and the gospel. Keep it up. It is wonderful.

  2. Shannon Wall permalink
    December 24, 2010 5:55 pm

    I can tell we are sisters because I feel the exact same way about journals!!!!! But I guess you were the one that got me started on writing. I can’t believe you have over 20!!! I’ve only filled 6 =( I love you so much! Merry Christmas and I can’t wait till you open my present 😉

  3. December 25, 2010 4:17 pm

    How fun!! I need to write more often!

Leave a Reply

