Skip to content

Gingerbread Men (part two)

December 20, 2010

Gingerbread is one of my favorite smells in the world, and one of my favorite things about Christmas. I love a good gingerbread cookie with a glass of egg nog! When I was growing up, for several years, my mom would have the greatest gingerbread house building parties. We’d invite all our friends and just spend the day making gingerbread houses. Real ones, with will gingerbread and real frosting! Those are some of my best memories.

Last year I made some gingerbread men, and I knew I couldn’t let this Christmas pass up without making some! These ones took me three days to make (day 1: make the dough, day 2: roll out and bake the cookies, day 3: decorate!). I guess I just wasn’t feeling ambitious enough to do it all at once. But it just made the fun last that much longer! I think they turned out pretty great this year!

As a bonus, here are some pictures of our lovely Christmas tree! Can you believe it, Christmas is only in 5 days!!

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 10:26 pm

    I can’t believe it’s in five days either! What pretty cookies you make! I never have the patience to frost them. Merry Christmas to my family in Indiana. We’ve been listening to a song called “An Indiana Christmas” and we love it!

  2. JoAnn McLean permalink
    December 20, 2010 10:42 pm

    I love your gingerbread men. The red and green frosting is so festive. I always did it in white, but I LOVE the color outlines. Are you sure its five days till Christmas day, isn’t it ten days? I’m not ready yet.

  3. December 20, 2010 11:18 pm

    Next time you’re around you’re going to have to teach me how to make gingerbread houses. I have failed too many times to count. I even have cute gingerbread house molds!

  4. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    December 21, 2010 5:18 am

    I’d love to make gingerbread houses with you Donna! It’s so fun. I think the trick is to get the frosting just right so it hardens like glue. I’ll have to ask my mom how she does that.

  5. Dan McLean permalink
    December 21, 2010 5:18 am

    Those are good looking cookies. It’s exciting to have Christmas as a family in a new home. We send all of our love and thoughts for Christmas and Christ this season.

  6. December 25, 2010 4:16 pm

    I think I can even taste them!! I LOVED them when I got some last Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

