Skip to content

My Life on Holiday

December 17, 2010

One of the best things about still being in school is the month-long Christmas break! At first I was terrified and had no idea what to do with myself, but now in my second week of break, I am thoroughly enjoying myself.  I have used my time to bake the delicious German Christmas cookies we used to get each Christmas in a beautiful Christmas tin from my grandma’s German friend, Lisa. It was my first time trying the recipe and it’s a pretty difficult one. I was so happy that they taste just how I remember them, even though they may not look nearly as pretty. I’m thinking about making gingerbread cookies next.

I am also trying to use my time to start writing again. That is my constant life struggle it seems like! I know I want to write but I have too many self-doubts and I always seem to get stuck and be unable to finish anything. It can be frustrating but I want to keep trying. I just need to motivate myself more. But Christmas break is the perfect time for that. Right now I’m starting a series of short stories about Mormon girls and women. Let me know if you have any good ideas!

And of course, reading is how I spend the majority of the break. I love the chance to get buried into a good, long novel and lose myself for hours before coming up again for air. The only problem is that there are always too many books I want to read and I have to pick just one at a time! But this is one reason I am truly in love with goodreads, so I can keep a list of all my ‘to-read’ books before I forget them all!!

The thing Michael and I truly enjoy doing together during the long days when he gets off at 9 am and we then have the whole day to spend together, is watching entire seasons of shows that we love! It reminds me so much of doing the same thing with my sisters during our Christmas breaks. We would sit together in our dark basement watching Gilmore Girls and eating pistachios and ice cream for hours at a time. Those are such happy memories. Also, watching all three extended editions of the Lord of the Rings in a row. I would love to do that again. Right now we are watching Fringe, season two.  It is such a cool FBI/science fiction/mystery show. I am totally hooked, even though some nights it does give Michael and I nightmares! I am hoping to finish the season before tomorrow because we have to take it back to the library! Next I think we will be watching Big Bang Theory. And wow, those two shows together make us look really nerdy, don’t they? Well, we kinda are, so that’s okay!

Just for the record, I am not completely lazy. I am still working at one of my jobs three days a week during the break. And I will try to find constructive things to do with my time as well! I keep thinking I need to get out my (Sally’s) sewing machine! So that will probably be next! But mostly we are trying to stay inside where it is warm and a way from all of the snow! We got six to eight inches yesterday and all the schools were closed, which was great because it is the day I volunteer at the school! When we were leaving to pick up pizza yesterday there was a car totally stuck in the snow in our parking lot. His wheels were spinning and spinning and he just wasn’t going anywhere. Michael helped push him out but that just goes to show how much snow there is here right now! Yay!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2010 1:21 pm

    Sounds like you’re having a great break! It’s needed before you start back again.

  2. December 17, 2010 2:18 pm

    I love Bloomington with snow, it is just so beautiful. I just found the users manual for that sewing machine, I’ll have to send it to you. I’m so glad you’re having fun reading books, I miss those days. It is so fun to just ready for hours on end and not have to do anything! Have a great holiday with Mike, we miss you both. It seems weird not having both of you here for Christmas.

  3. Krissie permalink
    December 17, 2010 6:08 pm

    I love Bloomington & totally missing a real good snow storm! I’m glad you are having a good break, I’m totally jealous! I’m ready for a good long vacation & I usually get that when we move, but since my job is keeping me on remotely when I move, I have to go to stores with internet to work once we move until we find somewhere to live! I hope you continue having a great break!

  4. Krissie permalink
    December 17, 2010 6:09 pm

    Oh & we LOVE fringe as well! Such a good show. Reminds me of the X-Files!

  5. JoAnn McLean permalink
    December 17, 2010 7:04 pm

    I love sewing for hours at a time. But, I have found, I can only sew so long and then I need to do something else. Have fun in the winter wonder land. We love you. Have a wonderful snowy Christmas.

  6. Lonita permalink
    December 17, 2010 8:51 pm

    Sounds like a great way to spend your break! I love hanging out and reading or watching a good movie when it’s snowy and cold out.

  7. December 17, 2010 9:28 pm

    How fun!! I sure miss you guys!!

Leave a Reply

