Skip to content

Hello from Library School

November 19, 2010

My classes are going really well and the semester is already almost over! I can’t believe it is going by so fast. I’m still trying to find a better library job for while I’m in school, but it looks like I might be making progress on that. Also, I’m helping to start a new student organization for our department with some really cool people, the Children’s and Young Adult Library Services Student Organization (c-ya for short). I’m really excited about that, and I have been chosen as the group’s first-ever Vice President! Yay!

After changing around my plans quite a bit, I think I’ve settled on a schedule for next semester. I’m taking Materials for Youth (such a fun class!), Public Library Management, and Information Architecture for the Web. It should be a pretty good semester. It’s really fun to be in graduate school and be taking classes with so many cool people with similar interests as me. There are so many awesome people here!

I get a lot of questions about what it takes to be a librarian and why you have to get a Master’s degree. Some people think that being a librarian is boring or that all we do is wear glasses and shush people. Librarianship is actually such an exciting field and there are so many things you can do in it. You can work in academic, public, school, or special libraries in reference, children’s librarian, youth services, cataloging, digital libraries, library directors, library instructors, technical services, rare books and archives, preservation and conservation, and there’s more. But the best way I could answer these questions would be, watch this great documentary about librarians, The Hollywood Librarian. Michael and I just watched it the other night and it is one of the best documentaries I have seen in years and years and it covers so many different issues in libraries. It is a truly excellent movie and I recommend it to everyone. We just checked it out from our library, but I am sure it is widely available in Netflix and so forth. Watch it, you won’t regret it! And you might even learn something!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad McLean permalink
    November 19, 2010 8:10 pm

    I couldn’t live without librarians to keep me out of trouble and order the materials I need when I’m writing and doing research. Go librarians!

  2. November 20, 2010 1:55 am

    Hey, strawberrygirl88. I like reading about your graduate program. Thanks for the mention and kind words about my film. ~Annie Seidl

  3. November 22, 2010 9:38 am

    I’m glad you’re loving grad school!

Leave a Reply

