Skip to content

“To live with gratitude ever in our hearts is to touch heaven.” -President Monson

October 25, 2010

“And he took the seven loaves and the fishes, and gave thanks, and brake them, and gave to his disciples, and the disciples to the multitude.”

Notice that the Savior gave thanks for what they had—and a miracle followed: “And they did all eat, and were filled: and they took up of the broken meat that was left seven baskets full.”

This was one of my favorite talks from General Conference this year. I love this concept of noticing and being grateful for what we already have before we expect more blessings to follow. Sometimes I can have a hard time realizing how many things I really do have to be grateful for, even thought I know they are there. Especially my sweet wonderful husband as we celebrated a whole year of marriage this weekend! More on that later, I promise.

This principle of gratitude has been on my mind so much lately. The other night I was having trouble sleeping because I was feeling very stressed and overwhelmed and couldn’t calm down. I decided I needed to start counting my blessings and made up a little game to help me to that. I started with the letter ‘A’ and tried to think of something I’m grateful for for every letter of the alphabet. This soothed me so much, and I think by the letter ‘E’ I was already asleep! It has only been a few days but this mind game has already helped me so much, not only when I’m trying to sleep but whenever I feel stressed or anxious or just sad. I really do have so much to be grateful for! What are your tricks for remembering to count your blessings?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JoAnn McLean permalink
    October 25, 2010 10:49 am

    I love your game to help you remember what you are thankful for. We all have so much to be thankful for, and we don’t realize all these blessings. I’ll try this game of letters of the alphabet. I’m so glad you are in the McLean family.

  2. October 25, 2010 12:57 pm

    I love this game, I think we might do that for Family Home Evening tonight. I think it will be a lot more fun then trying to create a lesson that is one minute or less. This might help me fall asleep too, I sit up worrying about so much most nights.

  3. October 25, 2010 10:48 pm

    That is a really neat game. On nights when I’m up worrying I might try this also!

  4. Dad McLean permalink
    October 26, 2010 7:34 am

    I am with everyone else. As President Monson said, it is an “Attitude of Gratitude” and just working through the alphabet allows us to learn and be thankful for what we have.

  5. cassie permalink
    October 27, 2010 11:08 pm

    Thank you for this post! It help lift my spirit, and reminded me of what really is important in this challenging world. 😀
    i love you!

Leave a Reply

