Skip to content

My name is Allison and I love TV

September 24, 2010

So, after a month of living here, feeling stranded with no internet connection and only PBS channels on TV, low and behold, we discovered we are getting cable. We’re not really sure how, and don’t really want to ask any questions for fear it will disappear. But yes, now we can watch glorious, glorious TV whenever we want.

Now, I did not grow up on TV. We lived near some hills so we would have had to get a huge antenna to get any channels, and my parents didn’t want to pay for cable. I spent a lot of my childhood reading and playing outside and though we did watch A TON of movies, I missed out on a lot by never being able to watch TV (oh, and homeschooling did that to me as well. Gosh, am I just a freak?). So it was always exciting to go to Grandma’s house or a friend’s house and watch TV there. I might have also gained a teeny-bit of a snobbish mindset that TV was one of the great evils of the world and would turn my brain into mush. Until, of course I joined The Dark Side. They have cookies (and by cookies I mean The Office).

I did have a few other TV addictions before I started watching The Office (namely, all seven seasons of Gilmore Girls, which my sisters and I watched on DVD through Netfilx). Oh, and there was also that four-month period during the Winter 2000 Olympics when my mom bought cable for a few months because she felt that because the Olympics were so close to home (SLC), we ought to watch. The Olympics ended, and soon after, so did the cable.

It wasn’t actually Michael who introduced me to The Office, but some other guy. But, still The Office was fundamental in bringing us together. My roommates and I all loved The Office, but after the switch to digital none of us had bothered to get a converter box, so no more Office for us. It was April and there was a two-episode special that Thursday night. It also happened to be my dad’s birthday, and the day after Michael’s. I really wanted to watch The Office that night. I put a status about it up on Facebook, kind of hoping someone (Michael) would invite me over to watch it. I was pretty disappointed when he didn’t but then, after going out to the Cheesecake Factory with my dad for his birthday, I got home to discover he had finally replied to my Facebook status! By then the first episode was already over but I rushed over in time for the second episode and we have been watching The Office together ever since.

And now, many more shows as well. Michael has amazing taste in everything, so I love it when he introduces me to a new show. I know I’m always going to love it. So now we enjoy spending our quality time together in front of the TV! Yah for us!! But really, it is fun 🙂 Sadly, because I always seem to end up working evenings, I still end up watching most of my shows on hulu or DVD, which I actually kind of prefer anyway (no commercials). If only I didn’t have to wait so long! I’m still a season behind on my absolute favorite show, How I Met Your Mother!!

So anyway, a toast to all my shows (and the list just keeps growing!): Chuck, How I Met Your Mother, Glee, Modern Family, The Office, Parks and Recreation, Castle, Fringe, etc. etc.

And here’s to joining The Dark Side.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 1:17 pm

    I love Gilmore Girls too!!!!

  2. September 24, 2010 1:29 pm

    TV is pretty great isn’t it! I have to not turn it on while the kids are at school or I get nothing done. Radio for day, TV for night!

  3. JoAnn McLean permalink
    September 24, 2010 3:15 pm

    Yes, I love TV also. This week has been the new season. Yea. I love Chuck and Castle which you mentioned. Gilmore Girls was one of our favorites at home.

  4. Lonita permalink
    September 24, 2010 7:26 pm

    Yea for your cable discovery! We’ve got a lot of the same shows on our list as well. Unfortunately, since we don’t have cable anymore, and ABC doesn’t come in (if anyone moves even a little, we just get static – and Joshua doesn’t exactly sit still!), we missed the Modern Family premiere. But thank goodness for online episodes…

  5. September 25, 2010 5:50 pm

    Welcome to the Dark Side!

Leave a Reply

