Skip to content

What do you think?

September 9, 2010

It’s time for some advice. I want to know what everyone thinks. Should I specialize in School Media and take a bunch of education classes, do student teaching, and take the Praxis tests on top of my library science classes so I can get a teacher’s certification and work in public school libraries? Or should I just stick with my regular MLS and have more time to take the library science classes I am much more interested in? It’s a really hard decision for me and I don’t think I would be considering doing it but I have talked to several people who have their library science degrees and a lot of them have said they wished they took the time to do school media and I don’t want to regret it later. So, I can’t decide!! I love working with kids but I don’t like the bureaucracy in public schools and all the extra work to be certified. And plus I really love public libraries too. So I don’t know. I know in the end I’m going to have to make a decision, but it would be interesting to hear other people’s opinions.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 1:45 pm

    Okay – here is my two cents – take it if you want:) I would get your teaching certi. also! It will give you more options later!! I think you will be really happy if you do:)

  2. September 9, 2010 2:13 pm

    The more options the better. But don’t sacrifice the classes you’re really interested in for something else.

  3. Dan McLean permalink
    September 9, 2010 4:17 pm

    This is a great message to take to prayer. You are doing right to seek input, but the decision rests with you 2 as you ponder, fast, & pray. The answer will come. Have faith.

  4. JoAnn McLean permalink
    September 10, 2010 12:07 pm

    I really like the school library idea. The reason is the time spent working will match better with your children, when they come along. You will still need to get child care once in a while, but not as much as a public library job. This is just a suggestion, because it is your decision in the end. These decisions are so difficult. Like Dad suggested, include pray and fasting together with your hubby.

  5. September 10, 2010 12:18 pm

    I would do it. Everything in life is a million times easier when you don’t have kids. Plus if you work when you have little ones like me you’ll be dealing with a bit of guilt. I can’t imagine trying to do school full time and try to run a family, I was rarely home when I was in college. Go for it, plus college is so much fun. Also working in a school library would be cool, they were always my favorite people at school. In Iowa I always made sure to bring my librarians a may day basket (a small basket filled with candy).

  6. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    September 11, 2010 1:01 pm

    Thanks everyone for the input! It means a lot!

Leave a Reply

