Skip to content

For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.

September 2, 2010

Well, here I am at school. My first week of classes is over. It was just a tad bit overwhelming but at the same time I’m really excited. One of the best parts is being surrounded by so many other people who love libraries as much as I do! It has been really fun to get to know a lot of my classmates.

My first classes were on Monday. This semester I am taking the three most basic classes, the ones I’ll need to graduate: Reference, Collection Development, and a computer-skills class. I think they are all going to be good classes. I’m especially excited for the computer class because I know that everything I learn there will be completely applicable to the real world. In my Collection Development class we have a fun project for the semester. We get to pick a library and pretend we have $2,500 to spend on one of their collections and by the end of the semester we will have a list of the items we would purchase! I’m going to focus on juvenile graphic novels. It should be a lot of fun!

I have a new job as well. My first day is tomorrow. I will be working in a Residence Hall library. It is a job mostly given to undergrads, but I think I am lucky to have it. All of the positions I have applied for at the main library that are meant for library school students seem so encouraging until they find out it is my first semester here. No one will hire me, usually for that reason alone. So it’s good I found the job that I did, though I am still looking.

I also have an opportunity to do some volunteer work at an elementary school library. I think I’ll be starting that next week. That will be a good experience for me because it should help me decide if I want to go into school libraries or not. I think I would most like to work in public libraries but I hear from so many people I talk to that they wish they had gotten their teacher’s certification so they could work in school libraries. So I’m looking into that. It’s a little annoying because getting the teacher’s certification adds time to the degree, but it’s easier to get it now while I’m in school than later.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 1:07 pm

    What elementary school are you volunteering at? That will be so much fun. I’m so glad school is going well too. Have fun.

  2. Dad McLean permalink
    September 6, 2010 3:32 pm

    “And truth is knowledge of things as they are, and as they were, and as they are to come”

Leave a Reply

