Skip to content

Getting There

August 24, 2010

We crossed 8 different states in 5 days to make the move to Bloomington. Idaho, Utah, Wyoming, Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, and Indiana. Everything past Utah was new territory for me. We didn’t really need to take 5 days, but we spent a whole really fun day in Denver with Jeni and her family. One of the cool things was seeing maps along the way letting us know we were following the Mormon Pioneer trail pretty much all of our drive, except backwards of course. It was fun to feel that connection to the past. Enjoy a few pictures from our travels.

Day One: Michael is wearing his Driving Shirt, a definite must on the road!

Day Two: I took a turn driving through Wyoming. I probably drove a total of 6 or 7 hours of the entire thing!

Day Two B: We stopped to see this statue of Lincoln in Wyoming.

Day Three: We got to see some famous artwork at the Denver Art Museum with Jeni!

Day Four: We saw an Original Pony Express Station in Nebraska!

Day Five: I crossed the Mississippi!! It was huge!!

I’m glad we were able to take our time a little on our trip and enjoy the journey as much as the getting there. I had a lot of fun looking at the different landscapes and sights along the way, and saw tons of stuff I would love to stop and see in the future! I am now ready to see the rest of the world!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 3:40 pm

    YEA!!! Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun!!!

  2. August 24, 2010 6:59 pm

    I love road trips! Looks like you had so much fun. Glad you got to see so many things on your way.

  3. Dad McLean permalink
    August 25, 2010 6:08 am

    There is nothing like a good road trip. It may see boring going across Wyoming and Nebraska, but it isn’t. It’s actually quite beautiful once you realize the pioneers crossed those states and recognize how desolate it must have been when they did. The Platte River is an awesome little river, but seeing the Mississippi for the first time is phenomenal. There is nothing like it anywhere else on this continent. I’m so glad it was a fun drive. I too can hardly wait until I can take time to do it again.

  4. August 27, 2010 8:50 am

    I love the Lincoln statue. See it every time we drive through Nebraska. I’m so glad you have fun because that’s the best part of road trips. I can’t wait till the kids are older and we can take that drive.

Leave a Reply

