Skip to content

Lasts and Firsts of Moving

August 13, 2010

This week has been full of many lasts for me. Last time going to Emmett and hanging out at the house I grew up in for 13 years. Last time going to our favorite coffee shop with my friend from high school. Last time babysitting Bonnie, Chas, and Charlotte. Last day of work at the library. All of these made my heart sad and heavy.

But looking forward, I have lots of firsts ahead of me too! First big move EVER! First time living outside Idaho since I was 5. First time going East. First time driving cross-country. First time going to graduate school (yay!). First time seeing fireflies, living in humidity, seeing Indiana in the fall, hearing real thunderstorms! First grad adventure of many to come with my amazing, wonderful husband!

So hey, maybe the good does outweigh the sad. But it’s also a first time we both won’t have a job for a little while. So pray for us to find jobs please because that part is really scary!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 11:04 am

    How exciting! And scary! But exciting! You will love Indiana. I don’t see how you can’t it’s so beautiful. And you will do great in school. And I’m sure you guys will find jobs soon. Good Luck!

  2. Tim permalink
    August 13, 2010 11:25 am

    Let me know if you want a job recommendation. I worked at President’s Physical Fitness Challenge while at IU. I can send the management an email seeing if they need staff. You can basically set your own schedule and there are no evenings or weekends. Actually, there are weekends in the spring but on a voluntary basis and 1.5X pay.

  3. Daniel McLean permalink
    August 13, 2010 12:43 pm

    You guys will do great. It was 38 years ago, with 2 children, we started the same experience. And it has made all the difference in our lives.

  4. JoAnn McLean permalink
    August 13, 2010 1:14 pm

    I’m just so excited for you. Our whole family is so excited. And you will start to notice how so many movies mention Indiana in it. That I can’t figure out. It will all be good.

  5. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    August 13, 2010 1:40 pm

    Tim, that would actually be great if you could do that. It sounds like you had a good experience there. You can give them my email or phone number too. alliwalli88@hotmail.com or 208-409-1652.

  6. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    August 13, 2010 1:41 pm

    Thanks everyone! You are all so good and sweet to me 😀 We really appreciate your encouragement.

  7. August 15, 2010 4:40 pm

    We will miss you so much. Bloomington is great. Bonnie and I looked at the map and she told me when she gets bigger she’s going to Indiana to go to college too! It was really sweet. Falltime in Indiana is awesome and I’m totally jealous. Have fun.

Leave a Reply

