Skip to content

My Summer Reads

August 7, 2010

Well, it’s almost over. My glorious months of summer reading. Reading for pure, blissful pleasure. I can’t believe I’m going back to school and I won’t have nearly as much time to read anymore. I also won’t have the amazing perks of working at a library with the ability to put any book I can think of on hold to read all the latest books without paying fines. I’m going to miss that a lot. This has been a really good summer for reading. I don’t think I’ve read this much since I was in junior high. So I thought I’d share with everyone my favorite reads of the summer. And if you follow me on goodreads, I’m sorry if this is repetitive.

Bleak House: This book, by Charles Dickens, was really the only classic I read this summer, which is crazy because I used to read so many classics! I guess I was out of the habit of reading long, difficult books because I felt like this took me forever to read. But it was so worth it. It is full of great characters, corruption, and mystery, and the ending is absolutely perfect!

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand: This book felt like an old friend. As I was reading it, that felt like the perfect way to describe it. It is about an elderly British widower and his new friendship with a Pakistani woman. The tensions in this novel felt very real, and all the characters were so likable.

The Maze Runner: This was a really cool young adult novel about a group of teenage boys trapped in a huge maze without any memory of who they are or how they got there. It is just the kind of story I love. The ending was a major cliffhanger though, and I have no idea when the second book is coming out!

The Hunger Games: I think most people have heard of this book by now, and for good reason. This a great book and very addicting. There isn’t much to say about it other than just read it!

The House of the Scorpion: I heard about this book a long time ago and finally got around to reading it. It’s another futuristic young adult novel. Why do I love those so much? The main character in this book is a clone, which provides a lot of interesting food for thought about that kind of technology and what it could mean. Really good book.

The Help: The waiting list at the library is still over three hundred people for this book! I really enjoyed it. It is about African-American woman who work as maids during the sixties and how they gathered together to tell their stories. It is a wonderful book about truth and love and community.

Scott Pilgrim: This is a graphic novel in a series of six books and everything about it is amazing! Of course, my husband Michael got me to read them, and I am so glad he did. Scott Pilgrim has to defeat his dream girl Ramona’s 7 evil ex-boyfriends before he can date her. I really love the style of the artwork and the fun, clever way these books are written. Also, the movie comes out next weekend!

Fables: This is the comic I am currently addicted to. Ever since I heard of it I thought it sounded like such a cool idea, a story about fairytale characters living in present day New York, but I never started reading it until just recently. Then I couldn’t stop! And I have discovered the fun thing about reading comics is that they never really end.

I also read; The Poisonwood BibleMy Name is Memory, The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, The Bolter, The Thing Around Your Neck, Committed, and Beatrice and Virgil. And of course many more. I love reading!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 3:04 pm

    holy cow you read way faster than me! i need to get on it. hunger games has been hard for me to get into!

Leave a Reply

