Skip to content

I Don’t Want to be Your Librarian Fantasy

July 2, 2010

A lot of guys want to get with librarians. You know, there’s that whole librarian stereotype that apparently guys think is hot. I see the real-life proof of this once in a while at work. And I’m not even a librarian yet, I just work at a library! But most people don’t realize that doesn’t mean I’m a librarian. So I’ve been hit on quite a bit since I started working at the library, which hey, might be great if I was single, which I never was, or if the guys weren’t all creeps, which they usually are.

From the guy who came up every day to ask for a pencil and then left a note on the counter for me with his phone number, to the guy who asked me if I had a boyfriend and when I told him I was married he was like, “You still didn’t answer my question,” (and this guy, mind you, my coworkers and I see regularly panhandling at the grocery store down the street — what a catch) men are always there to make life interesting. And because I’m just awkward like that, I always seem to have a talent for making these awkward conversations even more awkward. What baffles me the most is that HELLO, I’m wearing a wedding ring!! I thought it was pretty common practice to check the left hand before hitting on someone, but apparently guys only see what they want to see, which would be no ring.

So there has been this one gentleman that has been coming into the library nearly every day for a while. He was always very cheerful when would talk to me. When I would say, “how are you?” he would always say some great word like “extraordinary!”  and then he would try to strike up a conversation about the weather. Every single time. And yes, I know it’s Idaho and the weather does vary a lot, but I really don’t have that much to say about the weather, you know!? And so then my coworkers started teasing me that I was the only person this guy would talk to. One day when I wasn’t there he went up to the counter to check out and another girl was helping him and he didn’t say a word the whole time. So I was preparing myself for some kind of awkward moment.

And yesterday it arrived. I was shelf-reading alone in the stacks, a pretty vulnerable position, when he approached me and I could tell he was going to ask me out. It was very excruciating as he tried to bring the conversation around to asking me to watch fireworks with him over the 4th of July weekend. I was trapped in the stacks! There was no escape! I was very evasive and kind of rude, but I was trying to make it clear I wasn’t interested. Michael knows from trying to date me that I don’t have the skills of letting a guy down nicely. So I felt kind of bad and I should have just told him upfront that I’m married but that is what the ring is for right!? And not interested just means not interested, I shouldn’t have to give him an excuse.

It’s all just another part of the daily grind! It looks like I’m going to have to practice deflecting these situations before they ever occur. I just have to wonder though, if this ever works for these guys? I mean, hitting on someone at their place of work is not just awkward, it is so unprofessional. But I guess it could be worse, right. I could be a waitress or an air hostess or something, where men think it’s their natural right to flirt with you because of your job. Why are some men like that?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2010 11:19 am

    Too funny!!!! When I worked at the apartments and PREGNANT I had so many guys hit on me!! Maybe being pregnant ment I was easy:)?!? Some guys!! I wonder if girls are the same way with married guys?!?

  2. JoAnn McLean permalink
    July 2, 2010 7:14 pm

    I think you are so cute, he can’t help himself. And maybe he thinks the RING is just to discourage men.

  3. July 2, 2010 10:23 pm

    Girls are worse than men when it come the ring. There are some girls that only go for the guy with the ring on. It’s all about what they can’t have and I get to sleep next to every night. And what about part time models? They spend part of their time modeling and the other part of their time with me. Oh Flight of the Conchords.

  4. Krissie permalink
    July 3, 2010 8:12 am

    In NC, if you had a ring on, you were always hit on and if you didn’t, the guys left you alone! When I was waitressing, I had so many guys leave me their numbers (which of course I never called) because you are correct, it’s rude and awful when someone hits on you at work! Anyway, good luck with the job!

  5. July 4, 2010 12:36 am

    In 20 years when you’re feeling old you can look back on these and laugh and remember you were sooooo desirable that men couldn’t leave you alone! And it’s crazy but women do the same thing to men. Chris has been hit on a few times during our married life. it always made us laugh.

  6. July 6, 2010 9:59 am

    Grody! what creepsters…

Leave a Reply

