Skip to content

Bits and Pieces

June 24, 2010
  • Today I burned a batch of cinnamon rolls.
  • We turned on our ac for the first time this summer. It has been a cooler-than-average June, but yesterday was hot and today was kinda muggy so our house was hot and stuffy. We decided it was time.
  • It’s amazing how keeping up on the housecleaning makes such a huge difference. When I waited until something was grossing me out enough I had to clean it, it was always a huge chore. Now, I’ve been cleaning a room a different day each week, and when I get to that room there’s not really that much to do, because it’s still pretty clean from last week! So instead I get to focus on more deep cleaning stuff and it’s been great! I wish I was smart enough to have been doing this all along.
  • Last night we finally went running after talking about it forever. I hope we can keep it up! We talk about a lot of things forever before we eventually do them it seems. Like setting up our little mini-grill and grilling. Hopefully that one will happen Saturday!
  • I’m still dying to read more books about Africa! I’m just waiting on my hold list at the library now. I always seem to have too many things for the five-item limit! But for one of my summer reading prizes yesterday I did get a pretty good looking book about Africa for free! Sadly, I forgot it at work last night.
  • So instead right now I’m reading the Scott Pilgrim books. My husband got me hooked. They are so fun! I highly recommend. And the movie is coming out this August. Michael is slightly obsessed. It’s cute.
  • I’m pretty lazy about my ipod. It doesn’t hold much music at all so whenever I want to add new music I have to take a bunch off. So I go for months and months with the same music. But it’s good because that’s the beauty of an ipod, it’s all music I like! Until I get tired of it of course. So this morning I updated my ipod and put a bunch of new music on it. And I’m going to make a playlist for summer. Favorite featured songs are All the Pretty Girls by fun., Lay me Down by the Dirty Heads, Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked by Cage the Elephant, and songs by Electric Valentine, Vampire Weekend, MC Lars, and all my good old favorites. And of course, all this is music that was introduced to me by Michael. Because he has an amazing talent for finding awesome bands. And I simply do not.
  • We are trying to get this really great apartment we really want in Bloomington, but our landlord is being evasive. We need him to fill out this landlord reference check but it’s been over a week and he hasn’t done it and we can’t get a hold of him! Arggh! We really want that apartment and we can’t get it without him filling out the form!!! Frustrating beyond belief.
  • And that’s my life 🙂 Thank you everyone. And don’t forget to keep reading ED the Business Warrior!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 1:47 pm

    Read the Poisonwood Bible by Kingsolver. It’s fiction but it’s really good. Just ignore the fact that it’s on Oprah’s reading list, it’s still really good.

    Good luck with the apartment! Maybe he’ll call this afternoon!

  2. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    June 24, 2010 3:08 pm

    I think I read that book a long time ago but I was probably too young to get anything out of it or even understand it. Most of the books I’m planning on reading are fiction too. I like getting lost in the characters’ lives and I think I get a better sense of what places are like than even non-fiction can give. Because I feel like I’ve really been there! I love that. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. Lonita permalink
    June 24, 2010 7:40 pm

    I second Donna’s recommendation on the Poisonwood Bible – great book.

  4. June 25, 2010 9:36 am

    I love your love of all things African!

  5. JoAnn McLean permalink
    June 25, 2010 12:02 pm

    Maybe there is an African table runner in the works. Call the manager everyday till he completes the form you need. To bad about the cinnamon rolls.

Leave a Reply

