Skip to content

Story, Story Night

June 22, 2010

Yesterday morning I was driving in my little car on my way to Sally’s house to watch her kids. I was listening to public radio as I enjoy doing while I drive. And boy, was I rewarded for my listening habits! I heard about an event that was taking place that very night, and I thought to myself, I have to take Michael to that!

The event was Story, Story Night, Boise’s own version of The Moth. Well, if you don’t know what The Moth is, it is live storytelling without notes to an audience. It is an event they do in New York City and sometimes L.A. and Chicago. And if you don’t live any of those places, you can listen to their podcast. Which we had been doing. More Michael than me, because he listens to a bunch of podcasts at work. But he was saying that The Moth stories were getting really depressing. Like all about death and rape. Which is sad.

So anyway, Story, Story Night, live, here in Boise, in the Linen building! Yay! That makes it a hundred times better than something that happens in New York City or on a podcast, because we could go! And so we did. It was nice because I planned the date and we had a nice night out, and I was happy to give Michael a break from planning our dates. I should really do that more often.

We had a really, really good time. The theme was Falling for it: stories of gullibility. Gullibility makes some pretty great stories. By the end my cheeks were hurting because I was laughing/smiling too much. That always happens to me, a sure sign I’m having a really good time. My favorite story was a little sad, but very heartwarming, and with a very happy ending. The girl telling her story told about how she had a pretty dysfunctional family growing up, but she would look in the Sears catalog and construct her fantasy world, where her mom had mom hair and ironed and vacuumed and wore mom clothes, and she had two little brothers and a nice, normal house. Years and years later, when she was 25 she discovered she was adopted and when she met her real mother, she was exactly the way she had imagined her, complete with two younger half-brothers! It was such an amazing story.

So we definitely plan on going next month, when the theme is stories of travel. And Michael might even be putting his name in the hat, to be drawn for the story slam. So it should be a really fun time. If you’re in Boise, think about coming. July 19, 7 pm at the Linen Building. Tickets are only $5!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 10:09 am

    Sounds like a lot of fun! There’s a fantastic weekend of storytelling here in Orem over Labor Day. If you’re ever in the area around then come on over. I know you’ll be busy this year but another year would be fine. It’s been going for 20+ years.

  2. June 22, 2010 10:18 am

    i love the moth! i didn’t know boise had something similar!

  3. JoAnn McLean permalink
    June 22, 2010 10:57 am

    What a fun night. Michael can come up with some good story about traveling. Maybe the time we moved to Bloomington with our dog Strider. We keep her in our car and us in a motel for several days till we moved into our house. Are we funny or what?

Leave a Reply

