Skip to content

a morning at the McLean’s

June 17, 2010

This morning we had a funny situation. Hopefully husband won’t mind me blogging about it. So yesterday Michael said to me out of the blue, “I’m going to start going running in the morning before I go to work” and he asked me if I would like to come. I was so excited and of course I said yes. We wouldn’t even have to get up that much earlier, just go the first time the alarm goes off instead of sleeping through three or four pushes of the snooze button. I can be a pretty good morning person, if I have a reason to get up early. But I don’t think Michael is ever a good morning person!

I was so excited I kept waking up after about five o’clock and thinking, why hasn’t the alarm gone off yet? I wanna get up and go running!! I was wide awake and pumped and ready to go! Finally, a little after six the alarm did go off. Michael was half-awoke next to me and basically said he was way too tired and wasn’t getting up. I was kinda disappointed, but I only had one question. I wondered if this was like one of those siren situations where Odysseus tells his men beforehand to not untie him, no matter what he says later. I thought maybe even though Michael was saying now he didn’t want to get up, maybe if I made him get up and go running with me, he would thank me later.

But no, that was not the case. So we stayed in bed a few snoozes longer and because I knew we weren’t getting up I started to get sleepy again, and a little disappointed. I thought for a few minutes about just going running by myself, but then I was like, “eh, I’ll just stay in bed next to my husband’s warm snuggly body. Maybe we’ll start going running in the evenings instead.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 11:30 am

    So funny! I don’t know if mornings are any of us McLean’s strong suits. Except of course my dad who can’t ever sleep past 5. He used to get us up early on Saturday mornings to go on LONG walks with him. It was our one on one time and even though it was early, after we got started I really enjoyed it. Maybe it would be one of those situations with Mike. Who knows. You are certainly much more attractive then my dad ever was!

  2. June 17, 2010 2:27 pm

    Today was not a good day to start running. My body is still super tired. Usually I’m okay by the time I get off work, but today has just been a sucky day for me. My whole body is sore, i think it’s Allison’s fault. She did something to me in my sleep.

  3. JoAnn McLean permalink
    June 17, 2010 2:56 pm

    I must have started this “thing” of not wanting to get up in the morning. It is about exciting as preparing a talk for church for me. Does anyone like to do that besides Dad??

  4. Lonita permalink
    June 17, 2010 5:19 pm

    I can tell you Tim is definitely not a morning person, either!

  5. Dan McLean permalink
    June 17, 2010 8:05 pm

    You are all a bunch of wooses! There is nothing better than watching the sunrise, or moonset.

Leave a Reply

