Skip to content

My Day is Coming

June 13, 2010

Someday I want to go to Africa.

During my last Spring semester I took an English Senior Seminar and the topic was African literature written in English. It was taught by one of my favorite professors. We studied the history of the slave trade, the abolition of slavery in Britain, and the rise and impact of the British Empire in Africa and read great works of literature on all of those subjects. During the second half of the semester we read works that were more recent and dealt with modern Africa.

One book we read, Half a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Adichie made a huge impact on me and for some reason it has been on my mind again recently. It is a novel about a time in Nigeria’s history called the Biafran War and I loved how it transported me so completely to that time and place and all the sorrow and heartache the people were feeling. That is what I love so much about books.

And even though I am a very white, Anglo-Saxon girl, (last name Wall, and now McLean!) I do have some heritage in Africa! My ancestors in the Wall line were British and they settled in South Africa for a few generations. Africa is actually where my direct ancestor, Robert William Wilson Wall first heard the gospel from Mormon missionaries in the 1860s. In 1861 he left Africa to settle in Utah with the Saints at age 19. I wonder what it was like for him, growing up in Africa and what the world was like back then.

A few days ago Michael and I watched Invictus, which takes place in South Africa, and the Soccer world cup is there right now, so I’ve been thinking about it a lot, and I really hope someday I will have the chance to go there. Oh, and I would also love to go to India. But I could write a whole other post about that!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 10:05 pm

    I want to go to Africa with you! And India. There is so much to explore there and so much history to see.

  2. June 14, 2010 8:05 am

    I think you’d like watching the movie The Long Way down. Ewan McGregor and his friend travel from Scotland to the horn of Africa. They go through so many different countries and see so much stuff I didn’t know about Africa. There are amazing Roman ruins there that I had no clue were there and the ruins are in great condition.

Leave a Reply

