Skip to content

Summer at the Library!

June 10, 2010

summer reading!

Summer reading has started at the library where I work! Summer reading is a really fun time. We have programs for children, teens, and adults, and they all have really great prizes. But it sure does make work crazy for those of us who work there! Our circulation manager is constantly stressing about our schedules and we’re all working crazy hours. They decided rather than hire extra people, we are all taking turns working extra. It’s really good for the money, but I have a feeling I’m going to be spending a lot of time at the library this summer! Which, really I have no problem with because I love my library, and I love my job!

One thing that has been really fun is that Michael recently started volunteering at the library where I work. I love having him in the place where I work and helping us out so much by shelving books and stuff. Last night Michael was volunteering and when he was getting ready to go he checked the hold shelf for anything on hold for him and when he went up to the counter to check out with my co-worker Jase he was telling him how he got excited because he saw another item on hold for someone with his last name, but then it was a book about Hitler, and who wants to read about Hitler? He was totally bashing on the book, and guess who that book was on hold for!? ME! It’s The Hiding Place, our book club book for the month! And he knew I was going to read that book sometime too! It was pretty funny.

Anyway, as for what I’ve been reading recently, I am reading Bleak House by Charles Dickens and it’s taking me forever to get through! It’s been over four weeks now, and I know because it was due yesterday and I’m still not done. It seems like I used to be able to read books like this sooo much faster. But again, I guess that was back when I could just read all day long without a husband who has so many demands! hehe. The book is really good, I just want to finish it because there are so many other books I want to read!

And some people can read multiple books at once, but I cannot do that! I try sometimes, but what always ends up happening is that I get really into one book and then I totally forget about the other book. I have so many good books I never finished because of that. There are way too many good books in this world and so, so little time. I love seeing the elderly people check out books at the library because they get huge, and I mean huge, stacks of books and they actually have the time to read them all! It makes me think, maybe when I’m that old I’ll finally have time to read all the books I want to. What luxury that would be! A nice reward for a good, long life!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 11:27 am

    Dickens takes forever to read!

Leave a Reply

