Skip to content

Today: a poem

June 4, 2010

It’s been a while since I shared a poem on my blog. This is a poem I wrote yesterday. It might still be a work in progress, but I hope you enjoy.

Day of the Sun

The sun turns balloons
into stained-glass windows,
reflecting their colors on a dark world.
Colors and sunlight light up,
color up in so many ways.

The sun is shining through little
April leaves. They glow a bright,
transparent green in the light
that feeds them. They feed
us the food of air, of breath.
The sun, the air, the leaves,
the color is our food.

Water is also our food, as it drips,
drips, drips from the clouds, bathing
the earth with a clear, sweet smell.

And the sun comes out,
rising above the clouds.
From them the last drops fall,
through them the sun projects
its brilliance onto a wall of blue sky.
It only takes a raindrop
and the hidden colors of sunlight
show off in an elusive distant arc.

The sun begins to descend
at that low level in evening
the world is seen through golden-
lensed glasses. The windows
of houses on the hillside
burst into fire.

The sun continues its drop
until all the colors are in the sky,
fluorescent pinks and oranges
reflect off the friendly clouds
and join the earth to say good-bye
to the sun and her colors.
Until tomorrow morning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    June 4, 2010 10:47 am

    And also, I just want everyone to know that I had to write a little html to get the formatting right to publish this poem here – and it worked!! woohoo!! I’m learning something new!

  2. strawberrygirl88 permalink*
    June 4, 2010 10:51 am

    except it’s really funny because every single time I think of html I think of the Weird Al song White and Nerdy and I cannot get it out of my head!

    I got a business doing websites
    When my friends need some code who do they call?
    I do HTML for them all
    Even made a homepage for my dog!

  3. June 4, 2010 1:09 pm

    A very nice portrait of a day..enjoyed reading it and thanks for sharing it.

  4. Dan McLean permalink
    June 6, 2010 3:12 pm

    I really like your poEm. I read it out loud for effect. Poetry is always better read. Go to Ted Talks and see Natalie Merchant sing poetry. It’s good. Keep writing – it is a gift to be shared!

Leave a Reply

