Skip to content

I think of my favorite things. . .

May 28, 2010

Disney's UP

So this movie is my favorite recent children’s movie (Is it just me, or do I talk about children’s movies a lot on this blog?). Michael and I went to see it together when we were dating and I LOVED it! And then he gave it to me for Christmas. The best thing about the movie is the wonderful whimsical idea of flying with balloons. Most people know that one of my biggest dreams is to fly in a hot air balloon. But something I heard today has taken that dream to the next level. Did you know people actually do this?

Cluster Ballooning

It’s called cluster ballooning and I think it is the coolest thing I’ve heard in a long, long time. I love a radio show called The Story where a man interviews everyday people about their really cool stories. He interviewed a man who does cluster ballooning, and he said the experience is just like a dream; it’s the way people who dream about flying imagine it. It’s just like floating. I can’t even imagine how perfect that would be. You can listen to the interview here I think almost everyone has this wonderful fantasy of  flying away with a huge cluster of bright, colorful balloons. It just makes me so happy that someone is actually out there doing it, even though I know I probably never will. I think dreaming of a regular hot air balloon flight will have to be enough for me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel McLean permalink
    May 28, 2010 9:26 pm

    There was a time I would have done this and as cool as it looks I’m afraid I’ve become a little more “ground-bound.” Still, it looks like fun. As much as I like “UP” my favorite is “The Incredibles!”

Trackbacks

  1. Balloon Dreaming « Fresh Strawberries

Leave a Reply

