Skip to content

Quilting Conundrums

May 23, 2010

Recently I’ve become really interested in quilting. Lots of people I know do a lot of quilting and I think it’s really cool. I love looking at all the different fabrics and all the cool designs people have out there for really cool quilts. I would really love to make things like that. I think I would really enjoy it, and the results are so beautiful! The other nice thing is that there is always a use for a nice quilt or blanket.

But there is a big, big problem. Quilting requires a few qualities I do not really posses. Such as patience and precision and perfectionism. I really lack all of those things. Typically I have an attitude of, “Eh, it’s close enough,” even when it’s really way off and then just winging it. I don’t really like to follow other people’s directions for how to do things. I don’t have the patience for precision. I just want to jump in and get it done. Going slowly and carefully just drives me nuts. So you can see why I’m having trouble with the whole sewing and quilting thing, where if you don’t have things cut to just the right size and the seam line straight and uniform you end up with not so great looking results.

Sometimes, though, I think that maybe I feel so inclined to quilting exactly for this reason. Like maybe if I was able to force myself to buckle down and learn to quilt well, maybe I would be able to conquer some of these character flaws of mine, and that would help me in other areas of my life as well. So I’m not sure where I’m at with this right now, but I hope to someday see the results of this battle and create a beautiful quilt.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 8:38 am

    You married into the perfect family. All of us girls in the family are short tempered and have little patience. In face I’ve been joking lately that non of us can sew a straight line, looks like you’ve got the same situation. Take a look at my little blanket I made, it is definitely not perfect and I have a tough time making anything perfect. I have that same attitude that eh it’s ok. Plus I have a tough time reading through instructions and half the time I don’t even understand them.

  2. May 24, 2010 10:22 pm

    Well, you came to the right family, the imperfect quilt makers! We all lack patience and the little we have we got from our Mom. Those quilt squares for Sister’s weekend were my first try at quilting. And after a few mess-ups, lots of hard work, lots of drawn lines on which to sew in an attempt to get a straight line, they turned out pretty good. Go for it this summer with those girls up there, they can help you and even lend you a machine. And take pics if you do make some quilts!

  3. May 25, 2010 9:49 pm

    I’ve got to say, I love quilting. I really wish I was better at it, but these things come with time! I’m excited that you’ve caught the bug. You may never be the same again!

  4. May 27, 2010 1:32 am

    And just to let you in on a little secret – NONE of us can sew a straight line!!!!

Leave a Reply

