Skip to content

Summer Days

May 18, 2010

Can you believe it? Summer is almost here! Yes, I know it’s pretty rainy here in Boise today, but over the weekend the weather was perfect and already starting to get hot. The wonderful weather reminded me so much of last spring and summer when Michael and I were dating.

I remember last summer being absolutely perfect. It seems like it was always a blissful 80 degrees and we went riding our bikes on the Greenbelt every day. And we were so in love! We did so many new and fun things together, like going swimming, going to the Art Museum, going to different parks and taking pictures, going to McCall. Every time I got into his car, with the sun roof up and the music playing, sunglasses on, I knew it was going to be an adventure.

Now when I get in his car (now, our car), it’s usually to go grocery shopping. And most nights we’re both so tired we just stay in and watch TV. Being married is so completely different from dating. We feel more settled, more relaxed, less pressure to try to be cool and funny and interesting around each other and instead just let our regular old lazy selves show through. We can have fights over crazy little things now and know that we’re not going to break up over it, because we’re married, because we promised ourselves to each other forever.

Even though I do kind of look back to last summer nostalgically as the best summer of my life, I wouldn’t trade it for what we have now. Marriage is hard some days, but it’s so completely worth it to know the person you love most in the world is yours forever. And I like to think that this summer is going to be just as amazing with just as many memories and adventures as last summer (we’re moving!!), and that next summer I will look back just as nostalgically for the first summer we were married.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanne permalink
    May 20, 2010 10:02 am

    you got an award on my blog!!

  2. beetwostake permalink
    May 29, 2010 7:34 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

