Skip to content

When Things Fall into Place

May 11, 2010

Some things are finally starting to fall into place for our move to Bloomington, IN. Of course we still have LOTS to do and plan. The logistics for planning such a move are a little mind-blowing (packing, finding jobs, paying for school, etc.), but I’m hoping the earlier we start the easier things will be.

This week we took care of two important steps. I registered for my classes! Knowing what classes I’m going to be taking my first semester makes it all seem so much more real. All the classes seem so fun and interesting, it is evidence to me I’ve chosen the right career. I’m taking a prerequisite computer class that I am soooo glad they offer. Libraries are so much about computers and technology these days, and one of my biggest stresses about going to graduate school is how inadequate I often feel about my computer skills. Hopefully this class helps me out. I’m also taking Reference and Collection Development and Management (knowing what kind of stuff to buy for the library!) It all sounds so fun. One of the most frequent questions I get about Library School is what kind of stuff I’ll learn. Well, there is the answer (my first three classes anyway)! Now I can’t wait to find out what textbooks I’ll need so I can buy them and start reading. That is always one of my favorite parts of school: new books!

The second thing we did this week was find an apartment we love! We were just looking online because we were curious about what was out there, and we were so happy to find that the best deal was also in such a fabulous location – not far from where my classes will be, and also really close to Michael’s old house where he grew up!! The best part about finding this apartment was how excited Michael got when he saw what neighborhood it was in and that he would really almost be going back home. I called them today to see about openings in August and things are looking like it might work out great!

I’m so happy because I’ve always felt that if we’ve made the right decision, things will start opening up to us and making a way for it to happen. Of course the biggest obstacle, finding jobs, is still in front of us, but I’m really starting to feel that the Lord’s blessing is on this move and that things will work out for us.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 2:18 pm

    Yeah! How exciting! I’m so happy for you guys. Bloomington is awesome! You guys are going to love it!

  2. Tim permalink
    May 11, 2010 4:39 pm

    Glad some family is finally moving out to the midwest. Lonita, Josh, and I will have to come visit. If you need a job let me know, I can get you a prime easy job downtown with President’s Physical Fitness Challenge.

  3. JoAnn McLean permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:26 am

    I think the whole family is so excited about Indiana University being the school you and Michael will be going to. We all loved the town and I’m sure you will also. Enjoy your years there.

  4. Marge Janssen permalink
    May 12, 2010 5:37 pm

    We hope that with you coming to Indiana that you might have time to take a side trip to Cape Girardeau and you could meet a few cousins that you haven’t seen in a long time. Sounds as if things are falling into place for you. Good luck

  5. May 12, 2010 7:29 pm

    Ah the president’s physical fitness challenge. Tim worked there most of college I think. I am so glad things are working out. That always makes the move feel so much better. The college classes sound like a lot of fun too.

Leave a Reply

