Skip to content

Reading in Bed

May 6, 2010

I’ve been reading so much lately. I must say it’s been fantastic. I’d have to say it’s probably the best thing about being out of school. That and being out of school, of course. I’m having so much fun with it, and working at the library is the best because I am exposed every day to new books I have to add to my list.

One thing about me is that I love to share what I’m reading. I usually consider this a good quality of mine; I love to talk about books. But my husband would say it’s just really annoying. Michael and I usually read in bed together before we go to sleep. I love it because it makes me feel like an adorable married couple. I also love it because someone is right next to me so I can always share whatever I’m thinking about as I read.

 Most nights end up sounding something like this:

“Do you think clones have a soul?” I ask. (I am reading a book about a clone, The House of The Scorpion)

“I don’t know.”

“Because in this book. . .”

(This is where I give a detailed description of the plot and much more information than he needs to know. Sometimes I end up retelling the entire book.)

Then I ask again, “So what do you think about clones?”

At this point Michael says, “I already told you, I don’t know! I’m trying to read!!”

And this usually happens every night. I do sometimes wonder why he is still married to me.

I do have a brilliant solution to this problem, however. It is so perfect. I figure, instead of bugging him every night about my thoughts on my book, why not read a book together!? I absolutely love reading books out loud, and then we would be sharing the experience! And if we wanted to, we could have a real conversation about the book and we would both know what we were talking about. Like I said, perfect solution. Now I just need to find a way to convince Michael to go along with it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sally permalink
    May 6, 2010 1:06 pm

    I love to read in bed also. I would love to tell people about books but I tend to leave the most important parts out. I can totally hear Mike telling you he’s reading.

  2. Dad permalink
    May 6, 2010 8:08 pm

    That does sound almost exactly what happens in our house. Of course I’ve always been the big “read in bed” guy, but I can’t do that anymore so Mom just reads in her chair beside the bed while I fall asleep. Every once in a while though, I hear her chuckle, giggle, and even laugh. I’ve learned NOT to ask what’s so funny because it takes 20 minutes to lay the foundation. I still love having her read and me too. We do it on the back patio this time of the year. The best thing to read together is the scriptures.

  3. May 7, 2010 7:26 am

    I try to go to bed early enough so that I can read in bed to. It’s one of my guilty pleasures.

  4. Suzanne permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:19 pm

    Allison –
    You make me laugh!!!

  5. JoAnn McLean permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:21 pm

    I do love reading at night. My problem is I don’t want to stop and go to sleep. I would rather read till eleven or twelve. But, morning comes very quickly and I don’t want to get up. Dad and I like different types of books, so we don’t discuss them. Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

