Skip to content

Birthday Time!

April 11, 2010

We had such a great weekend. My husband’s birthday was on Thursday and we got to celebrate it three times over the past few days. He was a little spoiled this year, but he deserves it! He had three cakes – one at work, one that I made for him that we brought over to Suzanne’s to share with the family, and another one that my mom made for him today when we went to Emmett to celebrate his and my dad’s birthdays. I think my mom’s definitely took the cake! haha.

It was shaped as the red bumpy monster we knew from our favorite Super Bowl commercial for the Kia S0rento.

Michael was talking about that commercial with some of his coworkers and they were wondering what the red bumpy monster was. Because there are lots of characters, and they are all kind of popular children’s toys like sock monkeys but the red bumpy monster was kind of a mystery. Well, on Michael’s birthday we were at Red Robin with my mom and we told her about the commercial (and we even showed it to her right there on Michael’s spiffy new ipod touch! how cool is that!?). Imagine our surprise when we showed up at my parent’s house in Emmett and my mom surprised us with a red bumpy monster cake! I really have the greatest mom!

She had also researched the character and found out who it was. His name is Muno and he’s from the Nick Jr. TV show Yo Gabba Gabba. Mystery solved! We watched some videos of the tv show and it is such an awesome show! The characters are all totally cute and the music is so fun. They even have tons of cool bands on the show. Of course Michael knew who they all were and me, not so much. But it looked like fun and if I had kids that show would totally be okay in our house.

Yo Gabba Gabba

Oh, and yes, Michael did get an ipod touch this year. I think I was just as excited about it as he was! I ordered it from Amazon and on Thursday I was panicking a ton that it wouldn’t get here on time, but it did! Another birthday miracle for my wonderful husband. Happy Birthday my love! I can’t wait to do it again next year!!

the birthday boy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 9:31 am

    Too funny!!! Your mom is great!!! I don’t watch that show, no wonder i did’t know who it was!! You are a GREAT wife!! And SIL!!!

  2. April 12, 2010 10:26 am

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun! That is really cool of your Mom to make that cake for Mike. She must be pretty awesome, but then most Mom’s are.

Leave a Reply

