Skip to content

On Rain

March 4, 2010

I’m sitting here, listening to the rain falling outside our apartment. The sound is calming and makes me want to stay in bed with the company of a good book. It is bringing out a contemplative mood in me, and I have been reminiscing on past days and old friends. It’s been harder to keep up with a lot of my old friends since I’ve been so consumed with my marriage. So this morning I wrote to a few of them, and I’m really glad I did. So now I’m just sitting here, blogging and listening to the rain. I kind of feel like baking but I’m not sure what to make. So I’m still just listening to the rain. I love rain. Many people do not seem to enjoy living in rainy areas, such as Seattle. But I think I would like it. I guess it can be annoying and inconvenient when you have to go out and do things, but when you are out in the rain it can also be so exhilarating. And when you are inside, it is such a peaceful, thoughtful sound. It’s almost melancholy, but a happy kind of melancholy. I know that’s an oxymoron, but that is how I feel sometimes. I’m looking forward to moving somewhere that has more rain (any of our three options at the moment).  And also because rainy places are always more green. And for me, that makes any amount of happy-melancholy, annoying-exhilarating, wet, wet rain worth it.

Happy-Melancholy Rain

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

