Skip to content

Cherry Pie/Love Story

February 23, 2010

Cherry Pie

 The other day we were at a dinner at the bishop’s house. He had a dinner for new couples in the ward. There were about six or seven other couples there. The point was to get to know each other, I guess. So of course there were the usual questions and two minute versions of who you are. Then, towards the end of the night, inevitably the question arose, the question asked of all married people everywhere, “How did you meet?”

Now, as a young girl, as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I was a hopeless romantic. Lots of young girls are. So whenever I heard someone ask this question my ears would perk up and I would just gobble the story up. “How did you meet” stories are the best. They are the true love stories. They give you warm fuzzies. They are better than any book or movie because you know it really happened, and if it happened to them, it could happen to you. So, one of the things I would daydream about, besides of course my wedding and who I would marry and what my children would be like, was how my future husband and I would tell our how we met story. I couldn’t wait to find out what it would be. I knew it was going to be sweet, funny, cute, and very, very romantic.

Real life, as it turns out, is never really as romantic as people seem. Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t want anyone to read this and think I’m not happy about the way I met my husband. I wouldn’t change a thing. It was perfect for us and of course what really matters is that we are together now, not how it came to be. I just wish it made a better story!

The short version of the story is: “We were in the same singles ward.” For anyone with a knowledge of Mormon culture, that’s pretty much all you need to know. Or you could also say, “We met at church.” And there you have it. That’s the story. Of course the long version is much more complicated and not as nice. But here it is.

When we first met, I was eighteen and I had just moved out of my parents house. Michael remembers seeing me at a Family Home Evening that also happened to be my 19th birthday (Oct. 2008). He thought I was silly and crazy and way too young for him (because I was). But he also thought I was really cute. And I remember first being impressed with him when he was on the Family Home Evening Committee because he planned really cool activities, like Jeopardy games with really nerdy questions.

But because I was so young, I was doing a lot of dating just for fun and I really wasn’t looking for anything serious. So that meant I dated a lot of a certain kind of guy. Which were all guys that Michael didn’t approve of at all. So for a long time he tried to convince himself not to like me because of the type of guy I dated. About a year after we first met, at a Halloween dance, we danced and flirted with each other a whole bunch. And I think that’s when we really started to like each other for real. It took Michael until January to ask me out. But the timing still wasn’t right because I kind of got distracted by this other guy and so it took us a few months to have a second date.

And after that second date, which was during Spring Break, we were pretty much inseparable. Except for a little while I thought maybe we should just be friends. But I knew that if I said that to him I would lose him completely and he would never talk to me again, and I really didn’t want that because I liked him so much. So we took it kind of slow, and when I was ready, we were more than friends and I was completely in love. And now, as of today, we have been blissfully married for four months!

So now I just need to figure out a way to tell that story in just two minutes in a way that is sweet, funny, cute, and romantic!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 5:35 pm

    That is a sweet story! It’s way more romantic then meeting on ldssingles.com! I know a few couples that met that way. Of course I met my husband at a Stake YSA dance, so I’m not much better!

  2. February 23, 2010 7:56 pm

    Jay and I met in a singles ward. When we finally went out at the end of the summer (before he left for BYU) we became inseparable. I fell madly in love but it took him a little while longer. But the short story is 9 months after we began dating we were married and still are (we’re going on 11 years in April).

  3. February 23, 2010 9:37 pm

    I love “How We Met” stories, even if they are boring because they are special to that couple and you can tell from how they tell the story.

  4. Cassie permalink
    March 10, 2010 10:15 pm

    i remember that jeopardy game! 🙂 your story great!

Leave a Reply

