Skip to content

Poor Newlywed Syndrome

January 31, 2010

Back when I was a young, naïve little girl I couldn’t wait to be a poor newlywed. I thought it was going to be so fun and so romantic. According to what I heard about in church repetitively and from people older than me, people are always poor when they first get married and it is always the best time of their lives. Which only influences poor young girls like myself to think you have to be poor to be true newlyweds, and being poor is going to be fun and romantic and even glamorous. Or maybe it was just me because, yes,  I am a romantic with an overactive imagination. But guess what. My wish came true. And guess what else, it isn’t really glamorous at all.

I’m sure all the things people say are true. We are growing closer because of this time together, and it is wonderful just to have each other. Living on love, as they say. But no one really talks about how hard it is! How stressful and worrying and exhausting. It seems like it’s never going to end too! It’s crazy how we were both better off before we graduated, while we were still in school.

I don’t want this to be a negative, whiny post though. Michael and I are so truly blessed. He got laid off and that was really scary, but Heavenly Father was definitely watching out for us because he got a new job so fast in this time when so many are out of work. Even though I wish we were both working full-time (well, we are kinda, when we can) I know we are so blessed to have the jobs and income that we do have. It really is a marvelous time for us, even though it is so hard.

Even though I’m feeling slightly stressed and discouraged about it now, I guess that doesn’t mean that someday, ten, twenty years from now, I won’t be looking back at these times and telling all the young naïve girls around me that it really was the most romantic times of our lives. And of course they will all believe me. Because it’s probably true.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 9:39 pm

    It will seem blissful in another 10-15 years. And then you can pass the myth on to other unsuspecting young girls. It does get better.

  2. February 1, 2010 1:26 pm

    I don’t know what those people were talking about, having cash is way better then being broke. Actually the best part for me about being newly weds was that we were on our own. Ok while we lived in Utah we had Donna & Chris to look out for us and boy did they ever (if anyone gets a chance to live by them do it). But once in New York we were truly on our own and we cherish those memories more than anything in the world.

  3. Krissie permalink
    February 2, 2010 9:23 pm

    Being poor is not fun, but it makes your love stronger, for a lot of people, because you have to work hard and you cherish the time you have together. I don’t know what Sally is talking about being totally on your own! I can’t wait to live by family. It’s been a long time and I just want to be able to drive a few miles or even 15 minutes to be near family! Cherish your family before it’s time to move away for graduate school!

  4. Sarah Ann permalink
    February 21, 2010 12:33 pm

    Goodness. I am a newlywed, and I agree. It is definitely a trial, and you learn a lot more about yourself and about your hubby than you ever knew (or wanted to know?!). But I am loving it, as I am sure you are, too. The Romance is a little different this way, but sometimes better. I love our little nights sitting at the table eating whatever meal we could scrounge up from our little apartment. Love is wonderful!
    BTW good blog! 🙂

    Sarah Ann … sarahannrogers.com

Leave a Reply

